Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I haven't made an apple pie in 20 years or more. I decided to do so for my new beaux. He said this was the best pie he has ever eaten!! I did add cinnamon. :-)thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
It's a weird recipe compared traditional apple pie, but TASTY!! I would count myself as an apple pie enthusiast, and if it hadn't been for the abundance of apples on hand, I wouldn't have tried it. I am really glad I did. This one's likely replacing my old traditional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
My husband has been begging for an apple pie for a month. I finally had time to make one today and chose the #1 apple pie recipe on this site. It didn't disappoint him at all! The man who rarely gives recipes 5 stars gives Grandma Ople a high five with the stars to match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Beautiful Pie!! And oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made it just as written except added some cinnamon. Wonderful. Easy. My first latice and it was so pretty! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yaya
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I'm a beginner when it comes to homemade baking but this recipe is fool proof!! I've made this pie several times & I haven't changed a thing to it. Perfect as is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I finally made this pie today after eyeing it for the past year. YUM! It's a winner! I made it exactly as the recipe stated except I used apple cider instead of the water in the sauce and turned the heat down to 325 the last 15 minutes. I didn't want the sauce on the crust to get too brown. I turned off the oven and left it in for another half hour because, at that point, the apples were still too crisp for my taste. It looked just like the cover picture when I finally took it out. It is pretty juicy, so it's best to let it cool completely, at least 4-6 hours, before cutting into it. It will still be a little runny, but not too much. I used jonagold apples and the texture was perfect, tender-firm but not crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Love, love, love this. I've made it probably 5-6 times and every time it gets better. Was never a huge fan of Apple pie and the only reason I made this was because hubby loves it. Gave it a whirl and the only thing that's not thanking me is my hips. For sure will be a family favorite for life so thank u grandma ople!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
MUST ADD SPICES! i.e., cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I am cooking it now (and smelling it) :) As a personal lover of my own grandmother and all The wonderful things she does. I am so lucky to keep spending more years with her and wanted to thank this families grandma for helping me make my first apple pie :) Your grandma Oples recipe will Definately always carry on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Grayson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 5,905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States