Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Terry Godwin
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is a FANTASTIC pie! Pouring the sugar mixture over the crust is the kicker. Gives the top crust a nice, sticky goodness. I followed the recipe exactly & only added some ground cinnamon & cloves to the sugar mixture. Simple to make & flavor is so good. Grandma Ople sure knew what she was doing with this pie. Great, great, great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Godwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BCARROLL924
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My husband and daughter just told me this might be the best dessert I've EVER made! Only slight change was I added a bit of cinnamon to the sugar/butter mix. Otherwise, I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Fabulous! Easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly but added a tablespoon of cinnamon, 1.5 teaspoons of vanilla extract, and a few dashes of nutmeg... My hubby ate the whole pie in 2 days! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMills
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Great recipe! This is my go-to apple pie recipe! Every time I made this pie I get great compliments. I do add the apple slices to the mixture, coat it well and then add the slices to the dish, reserving some of the mixture to pour over the lattice top. Thanks for sharing. Definitely, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Why did I never think of making a roux as the base? Brilliant! As other said I added more flour and I cooked it for a while like any roux to get rid of the raw flour taste and gain that nutty flavor whisking the whole time Then instead of water I substituted a nice sherry which increased the nutty caramel flavor significantly and added cinnamon, some honey, a little corn starch and a pinch of salt. Since it needed to cook a few minutes after I added the sherry I added the apples right into the pot and cooked them for a few minutes in the bubbling sauce which cuts down on bake time and the possibility of too brown crust. Family can't stop raving! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Hands down, the best apple pie ever. Easy to make, considering the really nice crust on top does not require yout o brush with egg or sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
My daughter and I tried this recipe the other day and followed it to the letter except I added a little apple pie spice and it turned out perfect. Very good. Not too sweet and the number of granny smith apples were just right. My family ate the whole pie in one day! This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My family and friends love this apple pie! Love the way the top gets the nice carmel crust. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 6,450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States