Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
The issue in this recipe is the water and the cooking time. Mine was runny, too, like others. I have looked at a number of other apple pie recipes, and they don't contain water and actually also call for cornstarch in addition to the flour. This recipe calls for simmering the mixture, but it doesn't say for how long and that's the problem. It apparently needs to be simmered long enough to cook out the water but one wouldn't know that because it doesn't indicate. I personally would not include the water next time and would also add 2 tsp cornstarch to the flour. I added 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp clove and 1 tsp vanilla, which marry beautifully with apples and made it delicious. One other change - I added the mixture to the apples before putting the lattice on top and saved 1/4 cup of the mixture to brush the top with. This way the apples were all uniformly covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
best apple pie ever...absolutely delicious (and I don't even like apple pie that much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This recipe started a new tradition in our house last Thanksgiving and this is my 4th Holiday making it. Everyone love it. Thank you very much for sharing your Grandmother's recipe! She will live on through her recipe for many many years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The recipe is perfect as is - no need for any modifications whatsoever. Of course you can add cinnamon and vanilla as other reviewers suggest, but I really prefer the simplicity of flavors that are in the original recipe. But then it is a MUST that you use GOOD quality apples. You can't hide bad apples in this recipe. I used Granny Smith the first time, and the tartness was great since the caramel sauce is as sweet as it is. I'd recommend watching the video before you make this for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Denton Coyle
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Fabulous recipe!! Easy to follow and hard to mess up!! My kids request it for all holidays and cook outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Denton Coyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Absolutely fantastical! Best pie ever. I did change some things. I used 6 cortland apples and and 3 Granny smith. Also, I put in some caramel the second time around. (Upon request). But the sauce is what makes it for sure. THANK YOU Grandma Ople and God bless!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by curlygirl12
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Made this with pillsbury gluten free pastry dough and added cinnamon to the butter and sugar! Was really good! Best apple pie I've probably ever had! Gluten or non!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I was kinda skeptical at first, but it turned out amazing! My family loved it; as did I. It was super easy to make. I am totally making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
By far the best apple pie I've ever had. My only mistake was bringing it to Thanksgiving dinner. Now it's expected for all special occasions! Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
first pie ever turned out great, dont forget you need a rolling pin.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 6,397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States