Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by curlygirl12
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Made this with pillsbury gluten free pastry dough and added cinnamon to the butter and sugar! Was really good! Best apple pie I've probably ever had! Gluten or non!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Absolutely perfect not too many small changes make this the best pie I've ever eaten. Just add some extra cinnamon and nutmeg..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I was kinda skeptical at first, but it turned out amazing! My family loved it; as did I. It was super easy to make. I am totally making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
By far the best apple pie I've ever had. My only mistake was bringing it to Thanksgiving dinner. Now it's expected for all special occasions! Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
first pie ever turned out great, dont forget you need a rolling pin.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
The pie was delicious, however if you have a problem with it setting add 4 tablespoons of cornstarch to the paste mix when preparing. I also painted the lattice with egg white for a pleasing brown color and sprinkled with large granule sugar. The egg white does give some structural support, but the corn starch will definitely set the pie without affecting the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
ABSOULTY FABULOUS!!! This pie was a huge hit at Thanksgiving and it will definitely be my go to recipe from now on for any family event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
4.5 stars. Minus one-half star for its extreme sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I made this recipe a few years ago to bring to Christmas to share with my family. Two things I can recall in terms of tips for the future. 1-I put the pan on top of a flat cookie tray when I placed it into the oven. I'm really glad I did because the liquid filling overflowed. 2-The bottom crust was a little soggy, so if I made this one again, I think I would bake the bottom crust by itself for 10 minutes to let the crust firm up a bit before adding all the soggy stuff. I do not recall making any other changes/substitutions. My mother and I both enjoyed this pie-pretty tasty! My brother and father, well, apple pie "isn't their thing" so they didn't sample any. Oh well! More for us ladies (and I was more than happy to step up and pick up their slack)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
It wasn't as sweet as I'm use to but everyone loved it. Also I think my apples where bigger than this called for so it was HUGE! I could only fit 7 in the pie though. Another thins is that I started layering the sauce as I added apples so the sauce would be sure to seep down to the bottom layers. Next time I will double the sauce and still use the biggest granny apples to make it HUGE! Everyone was impressed how big and wonderful it was! hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 6,374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States