Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
So easy and DELICIOUS! I made this for Christmas dessert for my family and it was gone in five minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison85
Photo by Tracie Taylor
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
First time making a pie from scratch and it's delicious just as the recipe is. I was skeptical pouring the liquid over the top, but it worked great and was all throughout the pie. I also used the highest rated pie crust recipe on this app and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I feel bad taking credit from Grandma Opal! The only thing I do differently is season the sliced apples with apple pie spice before putting them into the bottom crust. Perfectly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I've used this recipe about 4x just poring the sugar mixture over the apples then adding a regular top crust. It worked great and tasted really sweet. This time I did the lattice crust. It was beautiful (really, looked store bought) but turned out not as sweet. My husband liked it better though so it matters to your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
so tasty! this apple pie recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
It was my first time making apple pie, and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
When I first tried this recipe 3 years (?) ago I thought it was just odd. Pouring the sugar mixture over the crust just seemed wrong but, WOW, this pie is a winner. I used a variety of apples - whatever looks good. Thats the only change I made. I make this pie now whenever I want the perfect fall dessert. Thanks Grandma Ople!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Outstanding every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilolkrista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This is the best recipe ever! Ok I failed many times trying to do this recipe, so I hope these tips find people out there like me. My problem was the pie crust cracking on me, I dreaded having to transfer it to the pan. The problem was is that I wasn't adding enough water. I started by adding 2 tablespoons, which didn't work. I then added 2 tablespoons with 1 tsp and it workout fine. Freeze the water for 30 min and freeze butter and then shred it. This work the best because you want to minimize the amount of touching and mixing the dough. Please use wax paper while rolling it out, it makes it much easier. I didn't even have to leave it in the fridge for hours, I only left it for 30 min. You can leave it the whole day and if you want to freeze it, it can last a year. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Gonzales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Being a 17 year old, this is the first pie I've ever made on my own and it is definitely a recipe I'd use again! The instructions were easy to follow and the taste and texture was great, my parents and siblings loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 6,387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States