Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This came out great! I didn't have to worry about apples browning because of the syrup. I added some cinnamon, but otherwise follwed the recipe. It was gone in 24 hours! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthe kitchen247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA
Photo by swtdreaming18
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
It was delicious! I did follow other people's recommendations: Stuck with granny smith apples, not too tart at all! (Used 4.5 for a 9inch pie, sliced it and it filled up very nicely; 2 tbsp of cornstarch, although next time I'll reduce it to 1 tbsp because it seized up very quickly and became a bit too gloopy so I had to spoon it on top of the apples but I did do it in layers so that it was still well incorporated; 1 tbsp of cinnamon; 1 tbsp of vanilla; Dash of nutmeg; I was wary of how sweet it would be since it calls for almost 1 cup of sugar (1/2 white, 1/2 brown) so I just put in 3/4 cup of sugar and it was perfect; My syrup wasn't syrupy anymore since the cornstarch seized it up so I just brushed it with egg white and sprinkled coarse sugar on top; Baked it 45 mins at 350 degrees and it came out perfect, crust was perfect, apples were soft I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This was a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
OMG! That was the best apple pie I've ever had. I did add the tap. of cinnamon to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I was very disappointed in this recipe! The flavor was fine although it might not have been had I not added the tsp of cinnamon. The big problem was that the sauce was very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This pie was okay...I thought that that this recipe called for too much apples. I made a few changes to the recipe and it turned out better than I thought it would. Thank you Grandma Ople for sharing your delicious recipe with us all! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira Sakinis
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Best caramel apple pie i've ever had! I had rave reviews. This was my first time trying this pie, but it turned out great. I took all the recommendations and it turned out perfect. I now have to make this again for all those friends and family who didn't get to try it. Don't look for any more recipes - this is it!! I used 5 average sized granny smith apples. The tartness from the granny smith balances nicely with the caramel sauce. I mixed most of the caramel sauce with the apple slices before putting the slices in the pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by franneh
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
5 stars, and almost 6000 reviews? I had to see what the hype was all about for myself. Made this pie over the weekend and it was such a success. I followed the recipe and incorporated some of the tips that the top reviewers posted (i.e. add a dash of cinnamon, bake on middle shelf, use 2/3 of syrup for filling and the rest for the glaze over crust, and bake for an hour at 350) Also - don't forget to let the pie cool for a few hours before slicing so as to avoid a runny mess. Excellent recipe. This will be going into the recipe book permanently. Thank you, Grandma Ople!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Really good. I was skeptical at first thinking the liquid would just sit on top of the crust and not bake in with the apples. It turned out perfect though. I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Believe the hype!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 5,950) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States