Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Great and Classic, have made this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Apple Pie is one of my favorite desserts and this was the best apple pies I have ever eaten. I followed this recipe even when I wanted to add cinnamon, I followed the recipe as is and I loved it. It is the best apple pie I ever made! This is now my only apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
A great recipe that has turned out perfect each time I've made it! All the tips and tricks in the comments were good food for thought too, I also added vanilla but that's just cause we like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I followed tips from other feedback - Delicious! Made syrup with 1/2 cup butter, 3 tbsp flour, 1/4 cup water(minus one tbsp), 1 tbsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon. Add 3/4 of mixture to apples and mix well. Lattice top of pie and brush with remaining syrup. Bake at 350 degrees for 45-55 min on center rack. ( I used MacIntosh apples and my own pie crust) If you brush top crust with syrup it will carmelize during baking and harden when it cools so cut the pieces while hot and let it set on a cooling rack for at least 30 min before removing any pieces. Next time I'm going to mix all of the syrup into the apples and leave the top crust plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is a prize winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This has been the 4th time I have made this recipe, and every single time I make it, I feel as if I am making the apple pies of of ALL apple pies! It truly is like having my grandmother in the kitchen next to me, sharing her secrets of this delicious dessert. I want to thank the person that had the heart to share this family heirloom pie recipe! I will have it in my cookbook...always, and have shared it with family members. My fiance gets so excited everytime I tell him I am going to make this pie, as apple pie is his favorite! I look forward to making this for years to come! By the way, one little tip, I always put at least 2-3 tablespoons of freshly squeezed lemon juice and a teaspoon of lemon zest in this pie, especially if I am using Gala apples or Honeycrisp...it gives it extra tartness! :-) Just a tip! Enjoy this pie and you will NOT be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This is my go-to recipe for apple pie...can't beat it, but you can cheat...for a super fast, in-a-pinch version, use pre-made rolled crusts found in the refrigerated section of your grocery next to the Pillsbury crescent rolls, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Best apple pie recipe in the world. I make nothing else, and my friends ask for it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I've made this pie 5 or 6 times and it comes out perfect every time! So easy...so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prissyGATTA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I followed it was perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 6,426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States