Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this pie today. Its the best apple pie I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Browns Mills, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I am very well known in my family for making "the best" Apple pies. Decided to change it up a bit this year so picked this recipe. It was a hit and was as yummy as it was beautiful. Actually just discovered AllRecipes this year and saving to your recipe book. I may never use a cookbook again! Love this app!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Gannia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
We followed the recipe exactly as is and this apple pie was a huge hit! My brother and I aren't big apple pie fans but THIS apple pie is beyond words. So delicious! My sister loves all apple pies until she tried this one, now she only wants this one! We use organic Granny Smith apples and they are perfect with this recipe. Thank you for this incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is by far the BEST apple pie EVER! I was first drawn to it because it's titled with "Grandma"...Since both of my Grammy's are now gone I always think of them while I'm baking and I love your comment about your own Grandma. :) I followed a few of the suggestions from others: I added the tsp of cinnamon, dash of nutmeg and Tbsp of vanilla. And mixed the syrup with the apples before pouring them into the pie. I also prepared the lattice ahead of time, brushed egg whites on bottom crust to keep from getting soggy and baked at 350F the entire time. It was such a pretty pie and DELICIOUS! My mom, who is very particular (& a bit brutal with honesty) :) when it comes to baking/cooking stopped me from eating, made me give her my complete attention, and explained how "perfect" this pie was...the crust was perfect (which is my Grammy's recipe), the apples were "perfectly" sweet, she could taste the cinnamon but it wasn't overbearing, it didn't have the "frozen pie, over-sugary taste" the flavor was just "the best she has ever had". This will now be my Thanksgiving/Christmas recipe from now on! I love it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
OMG this is the best apple pie ever!! I had a couple of leftover random apples and used grannies for the rest. I did add some cinnamon and a pinch of salt. This is it!!! The only way I'll ever make apple pie again. Perfection!!!! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!!! Five stars=??????????!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I followed it exactly and it was ok. But when you add the suggestions of mixing the glaze with the apples before, it led to even distribution of flavor. I then changed it slightly: (1) I love mixing apples so I used granny smith and mcintosh; (2) added cinnemon, nutmeg and vanilla because I love those flavors; and (3) added lemon zest and lemon juice. It adds a nice refreshing taste, bringing out the flavors of the apples plus adds the holiday spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I read some reviews and researched the net on apples to use. I decided to use half granny smith for their firmness and half golden delicious for their sweetness with vanilla, cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg the first time I made the pie-pretty good. The second time I made the pies I did two, one exactly as the recipe says, all granny smith's with no flavorings and one pie with all golden delicious with the vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg. I thought the 2nd would be the best but I was wrong! The original recipe with just apples, brown and white sugars is the best and tastiest! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb H
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Not that this recipe needs my review, but I made it for the first time for Thanksgiving and it was just awesome! I followed many of the suggestions that others made by adding 1 heaping tsp Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1 tbsp vanilla to the sauce. After I piled the apples in, I poured on about 1/2 the sauce, then did the lattice and then the rest of the sauce. The tart apples are really a must, if sweeter apples are used, the pie would have been too sweet. (The sauce is sweet enough on its own.) I will absolutely make this again! Allrecipes.com comes through again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This pie was amazing!!! It didn't last a day. I did add some cinnamon to the apples just to get that kick of taste. Otherwise, thank you for this recipe! I plan to try other apples next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Absolutely gorgeous! I cut the amount of sugar by half and with the tartness of the apples it was the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 6,333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States