Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I'm an intermediate level baker, and this was my first pie. I cheated and used store bought crust, and added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the FIVE apples I used, but other than that I followed the recipe. This came out great!! DO REMEMBER to put the pie on a foil lined baking sheet because it will spill and be messy, but SO WORTH IT! I don't usually indulge much in the things I bake, not because they're not good, but because they're not THIS good. I'm small, but I ate half the pie in 2 days! My husband devoured the other half. I know what I'm bringing to Thanksgiving this year! Definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monique

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
made the apple pie last year, my husband loved it, will make it again tomorrow, with home grown apples, good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This pie doesn't last through the night in this house. It's such an easy recipe and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is the best thing I have ever made! It was gone in less than 2 minutes!! Follow SCIOTA'S review. It is the second one down. Trust me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
First apple pie I have ever made on my own and my family loved it! I followed some others advice and added 1 T vanilla and a little cinnamon and it was so delicious! Won't ever try another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Easy and amazing! I used a variety of fresh picked apples for a subtle variable for each bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
We tried it without any alterations and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This pie was surprisingly very good…. as strange as it may seem to boil the "juice" and then pour it over the top crust… it was perfect! I will make it again, for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Lennon Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was the most amazing apple pie I have ever made! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly. I was skeptical because it looked watery when it cam out of the oven, but it jelled up nicely once it cooled to room temperature. By the time I served it, there was no excess liquid, the apples were tender but not mushy and the crust was absolutely to die for with the sauce baked on it. Next time I will try adding cinnamon to the apples. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 6,167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States