Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Sharon Shae Jenkins
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I rated this recipe a 5 because I have never baked an Apple pie. This pie turned out tremendously awesome! I added a few ingredients like some vanilla and cinnamon and also pieces of pie dough in the apples and baked. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maryscookin
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I've seen this recipe over the years here on allrecipes and thought I needed to try it! I made it for Christmas dinner and what a hit! We are empty-nesters and I have a small ceramic pie plate so I scaled back the recipe to fit. The directions don't say how long to cook the sauce and I think mine cooked a little too long, but it was still delish! After the pie was in the oven, I watched the video instructions (which I should have done first!)and it says to cook the sauce about 5 minutes. I'll know for next time...and there WILL be a "next time"...my husband is all ready asking when I'm going to make this again! I was surprised how good this pie was without any cinnamon...it just doesn't need it! Thank you Moshasmama for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA
Photo by Ruby Grasshopper
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Great recipe! It's my go to recipe for the holidays. I use granny smith apples and red delicious because I like a super sweet apple pie. Make sure you have a pie dish that is kind of deep or all of the different sugars with ooze out possibly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Believe the hype, this pie is actually so nice and really simple, super super good, No complaints I'd say. Its very simple even making the crust, I made a buttery flaky pie crust using a recipe on this site which was also VERY good, try it. PS i also added some cinnamon and vanilla i think its what made this pia that much better, your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
The issue in this recipe is the water and the cooking time. Mine was runny, too, like others. I have looked at a number of other apple pie recipes, and they don't contain water and actually also call for cornstarch in addition to the flour. This recipe calls for simmering the mixture, but it doesn't say for how long and that's the problem. It apparently needs to be simmered long enough to cook out the water but one wouldn't know that because it doesn't indicate. I personally would not include the water next time and would also add 2 tsp cornstarch to the flour. I added 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp clove and 1 tsp vanilla, which marry beautifully with apples and made it delicious. One other change - I added the mixture to the apples before putting the lattice on top and saved 1/4 cup of the mixture to brush the top with. This way the apples were all uniformly covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
best apple pie ever...absolutely delicious (and I don't even like apple pie that much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This recipe started a new tradition in our house last Thanksgiving and this is my 4th Holiday making it. Everyone love it. Thank you very much for sharing your Grandmother's recipe! She will live on through her recipe for many many years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The recipe is perfect as is - no need for any modifications whatsoever. Of course you can add cinnamon and vanilla as other reviewers suggest, but I really prefer the simplicity of flavors that are in the original recipe. But then it is a MUST that you use GOOD quality apples. You can't hide bad apples in this recipe. I used Granny Smith the first time, and the tartness was great since the caramel sauce is as sweet as it is. I'd recommend watching the video before you make this for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Denton Coyle
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Fabulous recipe!! Easy to follow and hard to mess up!! My kids request it for all holidays and cook outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Denton Coyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Absolutely fantastical! Best pie ever. I did change some things. I used 6 cortland apples and and 3 Granny smith. Also, I put in some caramel the second time around. (Upon request). But the sauce is what makes it for sure. THANK YOU Grandma Ople and God bless!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 6,381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States