Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
It had no spices in it and had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mcorson1101
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Amazeballs!! Just Amazeballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcorson1101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This is an excellent recipe. I did make some changes that I feel added to the complexity of the flavor. 1. I added 2 teaspoonfuls of a good Vanilla Extract at the end of the butter/sugar mixture. 2. I sprinkled ground cinnamon (to taste) over the apples after placing them in the pie tin. Everyone loved the result. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dad's world famous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This was the easiest thing to make and I'll be a son-of-a -gun, it was simply delish. I even latticed the top crust so it even looked like it came from heaven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
outstanding would recommend to anyone,my 4year old son and my partner now demand it even time they come home from school and work and end up fighting over the last bit! even my step children demand it now an they are very piky eatters 100% loverly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I don't usu make pies but my boyfriend loves Apple pie so I chose this recipe. I made the mistake of not using all the apples which caused my pie to collapse and I also drizzled the sauce over the edges and it looks burnt but it was amazing. I added cinnamon to my apples and added a tablespoon more of sugar. Definitely going to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
A great pie, i keep coming back to this! I do make some changes like soak my apple slices in water with some lemon juice to keep from going brown while i prepare everything else. Also i toss my apples in a bit of flour and add half the syrup to which i add the vanilla, nutmeg and some cinnamon to taste. I think the mistake some people are making is not cooking this syrup long enough to that is becomes just that- syrup. if cooked to just about boiling and simmers it become a thick caramel. within 10 mins on LOW, very very low to keep from burning. Try that and maybe you will enjoy a thicker pie. Wait til cool and set up before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I used this pie filling recipe to make a crisp. It came out absolutely outrageous! I had tons of apples so I doubled the recipe, using dark brown sugar. Poured over top of the apples in a deep 9x13 dish. The filling came out like caramel, with addition of adding 2 tsp of cinnamon. I used Granny Smith. Topping: 1 cup quick oats 1 cup flour 1 cup sugar 1/4 tsp baking soda 1/4 tsp baking powder 1/2 cup butter, melted Combine dry ingredients in a food processor, pulse to combine. Drizzle butter through the opening, while pulsing until moist. Squeeze in hands as you sprinkle over the top of the apples. Makes plenty of topping. Bake at 350 for one hour or until bubbly, golden brown, and apples are soft. This combination is the best apple dessert I have ever made. It will surely win awards...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine0120

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Wonderful recipe, made several times and there was none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly and I wasn't crazy with the pie. The syrup made it very similar to a store bought super sugary gooey apple pie. I would've gone to the store and spent the 4.99 if that's what I was going for. Not my idea of a homemade pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 6,481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States