Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Delicious! I used king apples off my uncle's tree instead of granny smith, and only used four apples and it was perfect! Love love love this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Modine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
BEST apple pie I have ever had. I am writing this review while eating it on the couch because it turned out SO well. I have had a lot of apple pie and this is the perfect way to do it. I loved pouring the cooked mixture over the top of the lattice and I covered it with foil about half way through (to protect the crust from getting too dark). Making this one every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
My in-laws have a huge green apple tree in their backyard that drop a million and one apples every season, that usually get eaten by the dogs and thrown by the children. This year we decided to search for a way to use those apple by trying this recipe for apple pie. My in-laws never have real butter, but even though I made this with margarine, it still came out absolutely wonderful! (I of course made it later with real butter and it was 10 times better) I have since made this pie several times with a roll out store bought crust (Walmart brand, and its actually pretty good) and love it. This weekend I will use the sauce to put into crepes, and my mother in law made empinadas (exactly the same recipe but cutting out pieces of dough). I found that doing an egg wash on the pie also makes it look very nice. The thinner the apple slices, the less tart and more sweet each bite will taste, so I like doing my apples super thin. Thank you Grandma Ople for giving my family a reason to spend time together collecting apples, baking and of course eating, the pie is absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fregoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Baked this pie following recipe as written and it was amazing. My only problem was far too many apple. I will use 5 next time because there will be a next time. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Horak-Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
One of the best apple pies I have ever eaten I make this for every holiday. So yummy I lov how the sauce is like Carmel sauce this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Hall Coates
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Best apple pie recipe ever!! I used two regular pie rusts, reserving enough sauce to spread over the top crust. I drizzled the remaining sauce over the apples and cut about 15 slits into the top crust before brushing on the remaining sauce. This is definitely my new go to apple pie recipe!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Hall Coates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written. The ONLY thing I changed was lowering the temp to 350 and baked 10 minutes longer. I would not change anything about the recipe..I loved it, my kids loved it, and my neighbors loved it. Even without the cinnamon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookwithlove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Photo by Mrs. Peterson
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Dessert Queen here who loves cheesecakes but after this apple pie recipe I may just have to change my most made and loved dessert become apple pies!!! This IS the VERY BEST Apple Pie recipe on the face of the earth!! I didn't even use Granny Smith, just 6 small apples (Gala) and 1/2 cup of regular butter, I use the egg white from 1 egg and brushed the bottom of the crust pan before putting in the apples so it didn't get soggy as well I added 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1 tbsp of imitation vanilla extract in the sugar-butter liquid. I threw half of the apple in the liquid and put them to the bottom of pan then put the other half of apples just as on top then poured the remaining liquid over them after fixing them flat for the lattice to fall flat on the apples. I left a small amount of remaining liquid and brushed over the lattice while hot to have that yummy taste on the top crust as well. I baked the entire time at 350 degrees for 50 minutes then took out to sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top and baked for the additional 10 minutes so 60 minutes total. My Husband and kids raved about this apple pie, thanks MOSHASMAMA!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This apple pie is absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,016) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States