Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This is actually to help you guys not ruin your ovens, my grandma always taught me to put cover your bottom oven rack in foil;then clean up is as easy as removing and replacing the foil and you can enjoy the recipe more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I made this Apple pie yesterday on Mother's day for my family. The pie turned out to be really tasty and just like bakeries. But the only drawback was that after the whole baking was done, I took out the pie from the oven & saw the juice of the apples at the bottom, which made the crust wet and soft, not crisp. I don't know whether these can be eaten oven hot or not. But I will try it once again, not with apples but with nuts. Anyway, you actually don't need 8 apples, 3-4 are fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
The BEST apple pie I have ever tasted. I've been making apple pie for over 40 yrs and tried this one last Thanksgiving and my family and I devoured it. I like how you cook the sugar sauce and pour over the top and let it drizzle onto the apples. Not only is it delicious it looks beautiful!!!!!!!! DeeWilcox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Great base recipe. Like most I added cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, vanilla, egg wash on the bottom crust and a bit of lemon juice. I baked for 60 minutes at 350. 6 apples sliced thin. Used 1/3 rd of sauce to mix in apples before putting in bottom. After 50 minutes added Brown sugar and cinnamon and let bake last 10 minutes. Probably the best pie I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cgregb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Deeelicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This pie is what the man of the house requests at Thanksgiving and his birthday and I am NOT a baker! I cheat and buy ready made pie crusts. I also have a handy little doohickey that peels and cores the Granny Smith apples I use. I really hate peeling and coring by hand which seems to take forever. Like others have mentioned I add cinnamon, vanilla extract and sometimes nutmeg. I add most of the syrup into the bottom crust with the apples then pour the rest over the latticed top crust and with sprinkle cinnamon & sugar. This recipe makes a very pretty pie that I would be confident serving to guests as well as family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This has become my go-to. I LOVE this pie...and so does anyone else who tastes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
It had no spices in it and had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mcorson1101
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Amazeballs!! Just Amazeballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcorson1101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This is an excellent recipe. I did make some changes that I feel added to the complexity of the flavor. 1. I added 2 teaspoonfuls of a good Vanilla Extract at the end of the butter/sugar mixture. 2. I sprinkled ground cinnamon (to taste) over the apples after placing them in the pie tin. Everyone loved the result. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dad's world famous

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States