Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This really was that good!! DON'T skip the part where you pour the sauce over the top crust.....it's almost the best part!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Kajer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by armywife924
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Okay so I tweeked the recipe some. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and ground cloves. I didn't add the last apple. And I also used salted butter. It is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunshine
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Absolutely delectable!! Thanks for sharing the recipe! I've made the pie twice now. Once during the Christmas holiday and once over Easter weekend. It was amazing both times! This was my first pie from scratch and wow, is it ever a winner! I read many comments and made a few CHANGES: I used 6 vs 8 apples in a 9" glass pie pan (though I'm sure 8 would be fine). I added 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp vanilla (because I love the taste of them). I added 1 tsp cornstarch (to minimize the chance of the pie being runny). I brushed egg white on the bottom crust before pouring apples in it (to keep the crust firm). I baked it the entire time at 340 degrees vs. 425. The pie was perfect and didn't scorch at all. MY PROCESS? I made lattice first and put it in the fridge while peeling apples. I then made the sauce and poured half over the apples. Everything worked well, except the remaining sauce began to crystallize before I'd poured it over the lattice. So, I brushed it on (which worked fine). The second time I made the pie, I made half of the sauce first and poured it over the apples before putting the lattice on top. I later made the rest of the sauce and poured it over the lattice. Worked very well. I covered crust edges with foil (to prevent premature browning) and baked on a lower rack. NOTE: The first time I made the pie, I wasn't sure if I wanted to pour sauce over it. By ALL MEANS do!!! It adds a light appley, cinnamony-sugary glaze that makes the crust INCREDIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Best apple pie i have ever eaten by far! very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Montgomery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This is the best apple pie- restaurant or homemade- that we've ever had. Utterly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Esther Kempling
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This was so delicious and just what I have been craving. Mine spilled over in the oven, causing quite a fire after wards, but I think I used too small a dish. This recipe inspired me to make a pie from scratch, crust and all, something I haven't done in probably 10 years. This recipe will certainly become a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kempling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patricia
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I didn't have Granny Smith apples. I'm not sure what kind they are that I used. I didn't make a lattice top. I rolled out the top and used a small lid from a olive oil bottle to cut a polka dot pattern in the dough. We haven't actually tasted the pie yet as I just took it out if the oven. The sugar mixture tasted so good , we have no doubt the pie will be just as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Looks yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theo Giamo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Angola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Made it twice and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This is the most awesome apple pie ever. So easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 6,450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States