Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Drool! I used pie crusts from Walmart and 8 small granny smith apples. I wasn't quick with the syrup process, so it got really thickened and chunky by the time I poured it on top, but I kinda really like that caramel texture and flavor! I did pour it on the apples as I put them in while the syrup was more liquidy. This pie is sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I love the recipe, but now after making it the first time 'by the book' I'm definitely going to make a couple of changes. Firstly, I followed the advice of another reviewer to add more sugar by 1/2 cup and add some vanilla and cinnamon and 1Tbsp cornstarch to the liquid filling- loved the thickness and flavor- I did use more brown sugar than white only because I'm a big fan of brown sugar flavor. I also added ground cloves. Here's where I'd change it up. I didn't like pouring the thick filling through the top crust- or even over the top layer of apples - I don't feel like all the apples got coated and that's something I would have liked. From now on I will mix the sliced apples with the liquid filling and toss to coat in a large bowl before putting them in the crust and just pour any remaining liquid over the top- I think that will ensure the flavor carries through to the bottom apples. Also, I will continue the lattice pie crust, but I will brush it with egg white wash from now on- I love the effects of that, and lightly dust the top with a mix of cinnamon and sugar. I also added cranberries to pie I made, a little added color and tartness and mixed with that lovely liquid it's to die for. So all in all a great recipe- and a couple of small tidbits that I've noted on my printed copy of this recipe for future apple pie adventures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I honestly don't get what all the fuss is about. I can't seem to see what is different from your apple pie that is different from the one I grew up with. My Great Grandmothers Recipe is nearly identical except she adds a little to the filling that your grandmother didn't. As a professional baker myself, your recipe is, sorry to say, simple and actually quite common. Don't get me wrong, it is very tasty,classic in fact, it's just not special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I was very excited to try this after all the great reviews, but my family didn't care for it much. It was OK. It could use some traditional apple pie spices, and the pour-over-the-top method was time consuming and messy. I'll stick with my old favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CaityMaple
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaityMaple
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years and it is wonderful! I add cinnamon to the apples before I pour the syrup mixture over it. To Lorilynn - the reason yours didn't thicken is you need to let the syrup boil and then simmer about 5 minutes. Try it again - it the best recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I was so excited about the recipe. But in all honesty, I did not care for it and it did not come out right. I followed the recipe EXACTLY the way it told me. Maybe it's because I am use to my mother's homemade apple pie but this one I made with this recipe was sooooooo runny, I am a bit disappointed. Until my mother comes to her senses and gives me her recipe, I will continue on my search to find something that matches my mother's at least a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Milo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Oops. I meant to give it 5 stars. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made this for the first time and it turned out great. I made a few changes as per other reviews: added 1tsp of cinnamon and mixed with the apples, used half the amount of sugar (I don't like pies that are too sweet) and made a regular pie crust (inserted a small hole in the center with 4 slits to allow the mixture to 'escape'. I brushed the top of my pie with egg but you can use milk too. Next time I will mix the hot sugar mix with the apples before I put it into the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I agree with Grandma Ople---*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 6,016) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States