Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I love this recipe! I didn't change a thing & my pie came out perfect! This is a big deal for me, I always seem to mess something up when it comes to cooking. I think I'll make a few of these for Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Benavidez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi's kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe. I used gala apples just picked yesterday, from new Paltz, ny. I added cinnamon at the end of baking and used a whole wheat crust. Really exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi's kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Larchmont, New York, USA
Living In: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Use a cookie sheet to prevent it from dripping all over your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Excellent, I wouldn't change anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Let me start off by saying that I do not normally take the time to rate recipes (I know that is terrible, but I'm a busy gal!) However I feel the need, even though I am on the clock and supposed to be working right now, to let everyone know how AMAZING this pie is. This heavenly delight was probably the most delicious apple pie that I have EVER eaten (husband agrees). Also let me add that I read a lot of different reviews suggesting to add this or to add that, and even I added a dash of cinnamon, cornstarch and vanilla, but I am convinced this recipe would have been just as fantastic as written! I was extremely crunched for time and wanting to get it in the oven quickly for a church event so instead of the lattice, I poured the caramel over the apples then topped the pie with streusel. It is now a day later and I have just eaten a slice for breakfast with my coffee and although I want to feel guilt and disappointment with myself for eating pie for breakfast I can almost hear Grandma Ople saying "Go on honey, don't be ashamed, eat you some pie for breakfast!" She knew what she was doing and there is no denying that she had some apple pie makin' capabilities! Aside from all the silliness I want to say thanks so much for sharing your recipe with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I think this is a fantastic base recipe and the fact that it can lead to so many wonderful variations makes it even better! I cooked my apples in with the caramel liquid until they were softened a little and the sauce was thick and I added a bit of cinnamon and a couple of drops of lemon emulsion. I allowed it to cool a little before adding it to the pie crust. I topped with a lattice crust once and a streusel topping another time - both were fantastic and I had many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I've made this pie several times over the past couple of years and it is AMAZING!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I love this apple pie. As a father of 3 young children, it's exciting to begin traditions. This apple pie is quickly becoming a fall tradition of ours. It's simple and delicious and has the taste of days of gone by all over it. I'll be sure to pass on the story of this pie to my family and anyone who is lucky enough to have a slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahbear
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Very very good recipe! 4 stars as is, and a solid 5 following the suggestions of others. I of course did the lattice top, and used my mothers recipe for the double crust. I added 2 ts of vanilla extract, 2 ts of cinnamon, and a 1/4 ts nutmeg. I also decreased the water to 1 tb, added 3 tb flour and 1 tb corn starch. I've made this 5 times now and its great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,084) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States