Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by CaityMaple
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaityMaple
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years and it is wonderful! I add cinnamon to the apples before I pour the syrup mixture over it. To Lorilynn - the reason yours didn't thicken is you need to let the syrup boil and then simmer about 5 minutes. Try it again - it the best recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I was so excited about the recipe. But in all honesty, I did not care for it and it did not come out right. I followed the recipe EXACTLY the way it told me. Maybe it's because I am use to my mother's homemade apple pie but this one I made with this recipe was sooooooo runny, I am a bit disappointed. Until my mother comes to her senses and gives me her recipe, I will continue on my search to find something that matches my mother's at least a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Milo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Oops. I meant to give it 5 stars. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made this for the first time and it turned out great. I made a few changes as per other reviews: added 1tsp of cinnamon and mixed with the apples, used half the amount of sugar (I don't like pies that are too sweet) and made a regular pie crust (inserted a small hole in the center with 4 slits to allow the mixture to 'escape'. I brushed the top of my pie with egg but you can use milk too. Next time I will mix the hot sugar mix with the apples before I put it into the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I agree with Grandma Ople---*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I was very happy this recipe came out great. Mostly because when I told my MIL I was going to make an apple pie she laughed and said "Ooh ok!" So,Yes! I'm very happy with the outcome of this pie :D I made it a second time, and wanted to add a little tartness too it so added a bit of Lime juice which really help bring down the sweetness of the flour/sugar mixture. Next time I'll do a mix of green & red apples. Also as delicious the sound of having a slice of pie straight out of the oven sounds, it will be too liquidy let it sit for at least an hour and it will all hold together nicely and will be easier to slide out of the pie dish nicely too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
my go to potluck contribution. everyone is always very impressed with this pie! i like to cut my apple slices a little thicker so it doesn't get too mushy. it's so yummy when there is a very subtle crunch in the apples. but don't worry, practice makes perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
The best Apple Pie I have ever had!!! It is requested at all pot lucks I attend! I added vanilla & cinnamon! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 5,979) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States