Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe is amazing. I used it to make my first ever apple pie and it was really easy to follow and make. I followed some advice from reviews on here and added a tsp of vanilla and cinnamon because I love cinnamon and couldn't imagine an apple pie without it. I only used 6 apples (4 Granny Smith and 2 red delicious) because I didn't want it to be too tart and 8 apples would have been way too much in a 9in pie pan. Six was the perfect amount. Couple more things: I brushed the bottom crust with egg whites to keep it from getting soggy and I poured 3/4 of the sugar mixture over the apples Before I put the lattice crust on and the other 1/4 after and it was absolutely perfect. Next time I'll have to slice the apples much thinner (maybe 1/8 inch) to achieve the softness that I want because I had to bake it for an hour on the temp recommended and a half hour or more on 250 and the apples were still not as soft as I'd have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I could not believe how easy and delicious this was! Everyone loved it. I was tempted to add cinnamon but I didn't and I am glad I followed the recipe because it is simply perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the "syrup," and I poured the "syrup" only over the apples. After the alterations I made, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joshua Krone
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Yummy. I doubled the glaze the 2 nd time and added more apples. After all men can't follow directions anyways. SHhhh don't tell my wife she's right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Krone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I added a little cinnamon and cloves. This was my first apple pie and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Best Applepie I have ever eaten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Yes I've tried and love this recipe. However, the number of great reviews by far outweigh any other. To those who were displeased with this recipe: have you ever perhaps thought that it may be you who have the problem; not the recipe???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
My 5 year old Drake says, "Still make the apple shapes and to still make the pie crust. But that sauce is too gooey. It's sweet enough, but it is too gooey so no need to add too much gooey and tell them to make the sauce not gooey. I would like it if you put the same sweetness in because sweetness and sauce makes sense, but not that gooey sauce. No Way!!! I want it to taste like apple pie. I am a big fan of the apples and the crust, but not that gooey sauce. Night monsters only like that gooey sauce...I will give the leftovers to those night monsters. It was not yucky, I would just call it not my favorite. Even though I didn't want apple pie, I wanted a lemon cookie. That is my typing of the day thanks for hanging out with my machine and my mommy is typing and has reached her limit. Thanks for helping me to find a solution."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is the BEST apple pie recipe that I have tried to date! Tried one of the Granny Smith apples ahead of time and I was a little worried because it was very tart, but not to worry, the sugar that is poured on top sweetens the pie. I followed the recipe EXACTLY EXCEPT that I sprinkled some turbinino sugar on top. The lattice crust was not easy to do, but I'm going to keep trying. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Baughns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Most of the syrup stayed on top, bums me out. Probably still gonna taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Heins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 6,360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States