Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Great PIE! make sure that you put enough butter. the mix should be smooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liav Azran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Singing Cowgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Hands down the best apple pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I felt this pie was just average. It came out very nice, but I've had more flavorful apple pies in my lifetime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Awesome pie!!! Just don't tip the dish when it comes out of the oven. That caramel is HOTTTT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Great recipe! Loved the idea of pouring the filling over top, it made the crust nice and colorful. We used Chef John's pie crust recipe. The filling and pie were delicious. Some did spill out while cooking so I'm glad my husband put a pan underneath. Will make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by blee0414
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I looked at the great reviews for this recipe and decided to give it a try, for my son who loves apple pie. Even though this is my first attempt at pie baking, I followed the suggestions of a few reviewers and added 1 tsp cinnamon, a pinch of salt and substituted 1 Tbs of water with vanilla extract. I also mixed the apples with the butter/sugar syrup before adding to bottom crust, leaving enough to pour over lattice top crust. I got rave reviews from my son. For me, the pie was not too sweet, the apples were not mushy and it looked beautiful! The first pie went quickly and I got a request for another one. The only change I made was to crimp the edges with a fork instead of pinching it with my fingers. Still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blee0414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa-LSU Tiger Fan
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Wow, wow, WOW!!! I'm not even an apple pie person, but my daughter, Lucy, wanted one for Thanksgiving. I made this one based on the raving reviews. I am now a convert! My son, who brought his own home-made apple pie, said this was 5-star restaurant quality and his pie was not even sliced. I would say read the directions very carefully and follow exactly. Even better, watch the video. I would have messed up had I not watched it. Also, don't stir the pot except a few times when cooking the sugar/flour/butter mixture. It will separate the butter and you don't want that. The only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon because my 13-year-old said apple pie has to have it. It was AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Made this for the first time - family loved it. Assembled the pie first, then made the sauce so I could pour it on without it getting too sticky. Rather than pour it from the pan, I put the sauce in a measuring cup - made the pouring easier. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time for Thanksgiving and it was a disaster. I followed the directions exactly and it didn't have a good distribution of syrup and spilled over and made a mess of my oven. I retried the recipe 2 days later and it came out great with a couple of adjustments. First off I mixed the majority of the syrup in with the apples as I added them to the pie crust, saving just enough to brush some syrup over the top of the pie crust. Secondly, I added a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the syrup concoction. Thirdly, I placed a cookie sheet on the bottom rack and cooked the pie on the middle rack so any spillage would be caught by the cookie sheet. I also use 3 types of apples to give it more variety: Granny Smith, Stayman (Winesap), and Cortland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Louise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 6,255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States