Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Followed the directions and used the ingredients as indicated. The crust was hard and burnt, the bottom of the pie was watery without the apples being fully cooked or flavorful. If I were to make it again, I would decrease the butter, decrease the apples, omit the water, and stir the apples into the syrup. I would add a little cinnamon and nutmeg, too. For now, I'm trying to figure out what to do with the leftovers as I don't want to waste the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Cerny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Didn't change a thing! Apples are the star and the glaze on the top, as per original recipe just give it a little boost of sweetness. I suggest to keep it as it is for a true Apple pie that is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Great recipe, easy to follow. Apples were very moist and the crust had great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xSn0wfl4kex
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
wow after all these years I just realized I have never submitted a review, just taken pictures. Well, it's probably because I feel there is not much more I could add that hasn't already been said. This is my go to recipe I have made this every Christmas since I first discovered it YEARS ago, it really is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xSn0wfl4kex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I pour the apple slices into the same pot with the melted sugar, then pour into the pie crust. The perfect apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Longo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Excellent apple pie recipe. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakemehometonight
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
This pie was DELICIOUS! Modifications I made: -I brushed egg yolk onto the bottom crust before adding the apples -I added a teaspoon of cinnamon, a teaspoon of nutmeg, and a teaspoon of vanilla -I poured most of the butter/sugar mixture onto the apples before doing the lattice work, and then brushed the rest onto the top of the crust -I brushed a little egg yolk on the top of the crust Very pleased with how it turned out--my whole family raved about it! I would recommend using the "Buttery Flaky Pie Crust" recipe with this pie: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/butter-flaky-pie-crust/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kgolden19
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Easy recipe!!! Received rave reviews from family and co workers. This my go to recipe!!!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
What an amazing pie ... i have made this several times now and each time it has turned out fantastic. I always make at least two pies since it's expected guests will want seconds. This is my favorite apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Really hate to not love someone's grandmother's apple pie but there was too much sugar and needed at least some cinnamon. The flavor of the apples was lost in the overwhelming amount of sugar. But I thought the roux approached was interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 6,450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States