Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Delicious! It was my first pie ever and I used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust recipe for the crust. It was easier than I thought, and it turned out amazing. I added a quarter teaspoon of cinnamon to it just because, and it's great. I wish I'd added a little bit more even. The pastry recipe I used was neutral (no sugar) which made it even better, since the filling is sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Bottesini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I dont see the big whoop. it wasn't thaaaaaaaaaaaat good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Was delicious but next time I will only add a 1/4 tsp and will add 1 tsp of lime juice to give it some zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I didn't like this recipe too much. it lacked a lot of flavor. Next time I'll boost the brown sugar, add vanilla, nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cintia Lanton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great! I added spice and I burnt the crust a bit but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Family absolutely loves this recipe! Very easy and comes out perfect every time! We substitute the Marie Calendar's ready made frozen pie crust and use the Pillsbury refrigerated pie dough to make the lattice strips on top. Be ready for a mess though!!!...but nothing a cookie sheet placed underneath the pie won't fix!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Amazing, finally found a way to make my in-laws like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Reduced sugar to 1/3 cup each and added a pinch of cinnamon. Turned out perfectly as I prefer my pies sourish and tangy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby zuby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This is the only apple pie recipe you'll ever need! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
My first use of this recipe was to use up some extra pastry dough that I had left over. I scaled back all the ingredients proportionate to one serving and simply wrapped sliced apples in the dough and poured the sauce in an opening that I left at the top. I followed the ingredients and the cooking temperature closely. The 'pasty' set beautifully ( not runny or gooey as others experienced) and the flavour was very good. I am looking forward to making a full pie, but the 1 star reviews have me a bit worried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 5,930) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States