Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Used the filling in an Apple Crisp which everyone thought was amazing. Definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Excellent recipe ! Tastes great and easy to make !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
It definitely needs changing in the recipe, I made this with the Pillsbury pie crust. and it is good for 9" pan, i put 4 apples and it was enough! my apples weren't big but medium, so i have no idea how you fit 8 apples!! Then of course I added cinnamon and vanilla extract to the sauce. and yes i mixed the apples with the sauce because I knew the running over the lattice will NOT work! I left enough sauce to kind of glaze the top with it. so i added the apples and sauce to the pan and added the top crust. i glazed a good amount of sauce on the top part and i still had about half a cup of sauce left in the pot. it was just too much sauce. baked the pie 15 minutes on 425 and then 30 minutes 350. but halfway through i realized because of the glaze it is burning, so i covered the pie half way with aluminum foil. now for the taste, it was ok. it was VERY runny and i thanked myself for not using all the sauce! It would turn into a soup if I would have used all of it!! the taste was 4 out of 5, but the whole thing was a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I modified mine to make it gluten free. Still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breleficent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Made this pie almost exactly as it...needed less apples then called for and used a bit more flour in the sauce. I used Pillsbury pie crust and it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was my first pie Ive ever made, but I think it should be sweeter.... next time I'm goin to try rolling the apples in white sugar and cinnamon in addition to the directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
With more apples it might be good but thanks for your time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe is a hit! I add a lot of nutmeg, cinnamon. Also have made it a number of times with a punnet of blue berries in the middle and then spread on top through the lattice top. As suggested, made the day before it will set beautifully and just needs slight warming in the over before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
DELICIOUS! I'll add a photo when I can make the crust more visually appealing. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I have made this before and it turned out great. I made it yesterday and it was very watery! I did add some cinnamon to the sugar mixture but thought I had done everything according to the recipe. I managed to cut a few pieces and then drain off the watery liquid put a paper towel to absorb any extra. It tastes great, but how did I end up with all the liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 5,905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States