Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Excellent and utterly foolproof. I over-simmered the syrup and it got a bit chunky but still came out perfect. I added 1 tsp cinnamon in the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I have made this pie dozens of times. It is always a huge hit. My husbands favorite pie is apple and this recipe is his favorite of all he has tried. I always follow the recipe, but with time I learned to pour most of the filling in before the lattice top for ease of pouring. I always reserve some to brush or pour over the lattice because this really makes the crust great. For those who said they got a runny mess, try cooking your filling a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb31540

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This apple pie is perfect in every way! Thank you so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great recipe!! My family and boyfriend loved it! Pretty easy to make and had a flakey crust! Did have to bake about 15 minutes longer. I took the advise of one of the other reviewers and mixed the apples with the cinnamon mixture and then put it in the pie crust. Came out perfect!! My go to apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Excellent recipe, mix the apples with the sauce first. I added a touch of vanilla and nutmeg, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is the best apple pie recipe, ever. My husband and I LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Reynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I strongly recommend trying the recipe exactly as it is the first time. It comes out perfectly and the best part is the simplicity. Just lovely apples and candied crust. The filling will be a bit runny until it has had a chance to cool completely, and then it sets nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trista Higgins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Already Had 4 red apples home. So I just got 2 Granny Smith apples. Still it was just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Trying this recipe, its okay. I did add some spices as it was too bland for my taste.. not a bad starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Burgess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States