Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I added cinnamon and vanilla and made some fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
The first time I made this pie, it turned out excellent, although my lattice-work crust was not the prettiest, lol. The flavors were all there. I used a Marie Callendar frozen double crust. The sauce mix I poured over the apples, with enough left to brush over the top crust. YUM! The second time, I used a different brand of crust, not a cheap one either, but I'll stick with the Marie Callendar from here on out. Some day I may even get motivated enough again to try making a real home-made crust! Because this recipe deserves that! :D. P.S. I take that back, my crust looked as good as some of the ones pictured above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by munchkinsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Awesome recipe! I don't usually like apple pie but love this one, and it is always a hit when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is such a great recipe. I did, however, have to make a few minor changes. I exchanged the flour for cornstarch because the caramel was too runny. Also, I boiled the water, brown sugar and white sugar before I added it to the cornstarch and butter mixture to eliminate the grittiness from the unmelted sugar. This is the first and only apple pie recipe I will use!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsJamieCip
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Added 1 tablespoon cinnamon and 1/2 tablespoon nutmeg! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJamieCip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Five star's all the way! My husband gobbled up two slices and probably would have gone for a third. I only made a few slight adjustments and that was to add nutmeg, cinnamon and a teaspoon of vanilla extract. This pie melts in your mouth! Thank you Grandma Ople, you are a genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
After apple picking with my family we made 4 pies. Well, EVERY ONE exclaimed this was the best pie they had ever tasted. Your grandma's pie united over 30 people in one sitting and raised the love of our family ten octaves. Your grandma is alive and well. Thank you for sharing her with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I am disappointed at how this turned out. I trusted the 5 star rating and it failed me this time. I was hoping for a yummy, warm filling and instead it was bland, watery, and boring. Where are the spices? How is there no cinnamon in this recipe? I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiebee
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
BEST APPLE PIE EVER!!! Didn't change anything (except adding about 1 Tbsp cinnamon to the apples, based on the many reviews that said it was missing). Oh and I didn't have Granny Smith apples so I used 6 random ones from our latest apple picking trip. I let my 6 yr old help with the lattice so mines not picture perfect but boy is it good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
BEST EVER recipe for apple pie. Everyone's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,016) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States