Apple Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
The cloves overpowered the bread. It was heavy and got gummy inside. Would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Wonderful toasted for breakfast with Crm. cheese or butter. I didn't use any cloves. Used cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. Can't wait to make french toast! I divided mine up in two bread pans and it worked out fine. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Made this the other day. Very good tasting. More "cake-like" than quick bread texture. Had to leave in oven about 15 minutes longer than recipe suggests, that was due to my using a bit smaller loaf pan. Will definately make again. Thank you Tuula
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
I thought this bread was good. I tweaked it a bit, per suggestions- less baking soda, more apples, no cloves. It was still a bit gummy but nonetheless tasted great. Will make again if I have apples to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I was able to make four smaller loaves of bread with this recipe. They were a little gummy inside after baking, so I put them back in for about 10 minutes and they turned out fine. They do taste like apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
i used only 1/4 tsp. cloves, added 3/4 tsp. nutmeg, and also reduced the baking powder a little. turned out well, but next time i will reduced the oven temp. a little since it was a little gummy inside and maybe add a little more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Excellent recipe! I often cook this to get rid of apples that aren't so fresh anymore. It's great that you don't have to peel the apples and it's a good way to get apples into kids because they mostly disappear. I use 3cups of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I made this yesterday with a few changes. I used 1/2 all purpose flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour. I did not have ground cloves on hand, so I used nutmeg. I thought it was good but not great, my husband said the same. My 2 1/2 and 11 month old ate some of it too. It seemed like it should be a little sweeter maybe? Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Wow! Talk about great fun bread. My grandmother even asked me for the recipe. I replaced the cinnamon and cloves with apple pie spice and the bread taste was perfect. I however took it out too soon and was a little gummy in the middle. I will turn the oven down an additional 25 degrees next time as the outside was over done and the inside gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I made alot of this bread last year,not only for my family but I ended up giving some for presents (better than fruitcake) and everyone loved it. It is easy to make and delicious.Also I was out of cloves so I used nutmeg It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States