Apple Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This was ok, as several other reviewers said it was kind of doughy. I baked it longer than it said and it still didn't seem quite done in the center, but the top was getting pretty dark so I didn't want to bake it longer. The batter was very thick, I think it needs more liquid or less flour. And the cloves were just a little strong, I would add little a less cloves and maybe add some nutmeg. I think I will try it once more with a few alterations and see how it turns out, it defiantly has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
The cloves overpowered the bread. It was heavy and got gummy inside. Would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Wonderful toasted for breakfast with Crm. cheese or butter. I didn't use any cloves. Used cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. Can't wait to make french toast! I divided mine up in two bread pans and it worked out fine. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Made this the other day. Very good tasting. More "cake-like" than quick bread texture. Had to leave in oven about 15 minutes longer than recipe suggests, that was due to my using a bit smaller loaf pan. Will definately make again. Thank you Tuula
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
I thought this bread was good. I tweaked it a bit, per suggestions- less baking soda, more apples, no cloves. It was still a bit gummy but nonetheless tasted great. Will make again if I have apples to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I was able to make four smaller loaves of bread with this recipe. They were a little gummy inside after baking, so I put them back in for about 10 minutes and they turned out fine. They do taste like apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
i used only 1/4 tsp. cloves, added 3/4 tsp. nutmeg, and also reduced the baking powder a little. turned out well, but next time i will reduced the oven temp. a little since it was a little gummy inside and maybe add a little more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Excellent recipe! I often cook this to get rid of apples that aren't so fresh anymore. It's great that you don't have to peel the apples and it's a good way to get apples into kids because they mostly disappear. I use 3cups of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I made this yesterday with a few changes. I used 1/2 all purpose flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour. I did not have ground cloves on hand, so I used nutmeg. I thought it was good but not great, my husband said the same. My 2 1/2 and 11 month old ate some of it too. It seemed like it should be a little sweeter maybe? Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Wow! Talk about great fun bread. My grandmother even asked me for the recipe. I replaced the cinnamon and cloves with apple pie spice and the bread taste was perfect. I however took it out too soon and was a little gummy in the middle. I will turn the oven down an additional 25 degrees next time as the outside was over done and the inside gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States