Apple Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is an excellent recipe that my mother has been making for years - my own recommendations: use ONLY Granny Smith apples, for low juice and perfect baking results; use only 4-5 apples, rather than the 8 suggested here, enough for a single, dense layer; and you don't have to use corn flakes for the base, you can use any flaked cereal, or even crisped rice cereal works great. I made this last night for some dinner guests, and they RAVED about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Centerville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I used four good sized granny smith apples = 8 cups. I mixed ingredients and apples together in a bowl to evenly coat them. Great recipe, unlike other reviews, mine held up well for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLOCK08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I made these for my husband who loves apples and they were a big hit. Great for dessert or with morning coffee. Note: The recipe should read 1 1/2 tablespoons (not teaspoons)milk for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
These are delicious! I am not sure what role the cornflakes play, I could not taste them and there was not a texture difference in the bottom crust... As for the sogginess-after-two-days issue, I reheated them for 15 minutes at 250 degrees, then upped the temp to 350 for another 10 minutes or so and the crust "freshened up". They were a hit with our Bible Study Small Group. I also liked the way the glaze hardened in the oven after the second heating, so I might add it 1/2way thru next time. (If serving it to a crowd) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Delicious! Just like apple pie! But that means this recipe is definitely not "traveler friendly". Much too much ooey gooey sticky streuselness to be a good item for packing. But that's ok; just eat them warm right out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Excellent stuff! I've always used green apples and frosted flakes, but otherwise the recipe goes unchanged. I do roll the dough out to fit a (sided) cookie sheet - makes more. A must on my christmas trays and happy indulgence any other time of the year. The only complaint (and it's not much of one considering they're gone within two days) but they don't have a good shelf life...only two days without becoming soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Yummy, yummy! This is really easy and fun to make! The crust is a breeze if you've got a pastry blender - and if you don't, use a fork. The only thing I would add to this is a couple pats of butter over the apples before adding the top crust, but that's just because I love butter. It doesn't "need" it - it's great just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This looked and smelled wonderful. The crust was very very nice, both in flavor and texture, but the filling was dry. I used gala apples, sliced thin as directed. Perhaps thicker wedges would have held the moisture better. This was my only complaint. The flavor was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made exactly as recipe indicated using a variety of apples. These do take some prep time but the flavor is so worth it. The hardest part was rolling out the dough so I'd add flour to the counter as needed and lift the dough to sprinkle flour underneath & continue to roll out. It takes a little work but take the time needed and it will be much easier. Very yummy. These bars are great for bake sales. Once cooled they hold together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is soooooooooooo good and easily made with common household ingredients. I would have given it 5 stars except it is a bit too sweet. Next time I will cut down on the sugar from one cup to a half cup because the drizzle on top is just too good to skip! My husband loves sweet things, so this suits him just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States