Apple Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I had forgotten about this recipe but made it years ago. It is still one of the best apple bars I have ever found. Always use Granny Smith apples and cut back on the sugar. Cornflakes on the bottom are a must for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is an excellent recipe that my mother has been making for years - my own recommendations: use ONLY Granny Smith apples, for low juice and perfect baking results; use only 4-5 apples, rather than the 8 suggested here, enough for a single, dense layer; and you don't have to use corn flakes for the base, you can use any flaked cereal, or even crisped rice cereal works great. I made this last night for some dinner guests, and they RAVED about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Centerville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I used 4 Granny Smith and 4 Braeburn apples and increased the sugar in the filling to 1 cup. Baked in a cookie sheet cake pan (a little larger than a 9X13 cake pan). This is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This looked and smelled wonderful. The crust was very very nice, both in flavor and texture, but the filling was dry. I used gala apples, sliced thin as directed. Perhaps thicker wedges would have held the moisture better. This was my only complaint. The flavor was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
These are delicious! I am not sure what role the cornflakes play, I could not taste them and there was not a texture difference in the bottom crust... As for the sogginess-after-two-days issue, I reheated them for 15 minutes at 250 degrees, then upped the temp to 350 for another 10 minutes or so and the crust "freshened up". They were a hit with our Bible Study Small Group. I also liked the way the glaze hardened in the oven after the second heating, so I might add it 1/2way thru next time. (If serving it to a crowd) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed making AND eating these. Very tasty. I used gala apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHfromNJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Netcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This was a great treat! My husband thought they tasted like the little individual Hostess apple pies. Seriously addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
i made this for my niece's baptism. everyone liked them. they are good, but i thought they were a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Wonderful recipe and so easy to make. The only trouble is I can't leave them alone. Next time I might try adding golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I used four good sized granny smith apples = 8 cups. I mixed ingredients and apples together in a bowl to evenly coat them. Great recipe, unlike other reviews, mine held up well for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLOCK08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States