Apple Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I made these for my husband who loves apples and they were a big hit. Great for dessert or with morning coffee. Note: The recipe should read 1 1/2 tablespoons (not teaspoons)milk for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
These are delicious! I am not sure what role the cornflakes play, I could not taste them and there was not a texture difference in the bottom crust... As for the sogginess-after-two-days issue, I reheated them for 15 minutes at 250 degrees, then upped the temp to 350 for another 10 minutes or so and the crust "freshened up". They were a hit with our Bible Study Small Group. I also liked the way the glaze hardened in the oven after the second heating, so I might add it 1/2way thru next time. (If serving it to a crowd) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Delicious! Just like apple pie! But that means this recipe is definitely not "traveler friendly". Much too much ooey gooey sticky streuselness to be a good item for packing. But that's ok; just eat them warm right out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I made this for our 4th of July party. Defiately an "All American" dessert. My family requested last night that I bake it again. They didn't have to twist my arm too hard. It's actually a very easy recipe, and I love how flaky the crust turns out. Crusts can be a tricky think to accomplish. It was definately a nice twist to the Apple Pie. Much easier to serve too. I can see that this has definately become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This tastes just like apple pie! The crust is flaky and moist, and the sweetness is just right. I added a teaspoon of vanilla into the crust just to bring out the flavor more. This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Yummy, yummy! This is really easy and fun to make! The crust is a breeze if you've got a pastry blender - and if you don't, use a fork. The only thing I would add to this is a couple pats of butter over the apples before adding the top crust, but that's just because I love butter. It doesn't "need" it - it's great just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Excellent stuff! I've always used green apples and frosted flakes, but otherwise the recipe goes unchanged. I do roll the dough out to fit a (sided) cookie sheet - makes more. A must on my christmas trays and happy indulgence any other time of the year. The only complaint (and it's not much of one considering they're gone within two days) but they don't have a good shelf life...only two days without becoming soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I used four good sized granny smith apples = 8 cups. I mixed ingredients and apples together in a bowl to evenly coat them. Great recipe, unlike other reviews, mine held up well for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLOCK08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Wonderful recipe and so easy to make. The only trouble is I can't leave them alone. Next time I might try adding golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This was a great treat! My husband thought they tasted like the little individual Hostess apple pies. Seriously addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States