Apple Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
This was great, I thought the dough could be alittle sweeter and the next time I make this I think I will use brown sugar to coat the apples. I will definently make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Delicious! Just like apple pie! But that means this recipe is definitely not "traveler friendly". Much too much ooey gooey sticky streuselness to be a good item for packing. But that's ok; just eat them warm right out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Thout this was a easy (with an apple peeler/slicer) apple pie. Like the sweetness, good crust. Much better right out of the oven with a scoop of icecream. Too soggy the next day. Glaze works with skim milk as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I made this for our 4th of July party. Defiately an "All American" dessert. My family requested last night that I bake it again. They didn't have to twist my arm too hard. It's actually a very easy recipe, and I love how flaky the crust turns out. Crusts can be a tricky think to accomplish. It was definately a nice twist to the Apple Pie. Much easier to serve too. I can see that this has definately become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This tastes just like apple pie! The crust is flaky and moist, and the sweetness is just right. I added a teaspoon of vanilla into the crust just to bring out the flavor more. This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Yummy, yummy! This is really easy and fun to make! The crust is a breeze if you've got a pastry blender - and if you don't, use a fork. The only thing I would add to this is a couple pats of butter over the apples before adding the top crust, but that's just because I love butter. It doesn't "need" it - it's great just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Excellent stuff! I've always used green apples and frosted flakes, but otherwise the recipe goes unchanged. I do roll the dough out to fit a (sided) cookie sheet - makes more. A must on my christmas trays and happy indulgence any other time of the year. The only complaint (and it's not much of one considering they're gone within two days) but they don't have a good shelf life...only two days without becoming soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I made these for my husband who loves apples and they were a big hit. Great for dessert or with morning coffee. Note: The recipe should read 1 1/2 tablespoons (not teaspoons)milk for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I used four good sized granny smith apples = 8 cups. I mixed ingredients and apples together in a bowl to evenly coat them. Great recipe, unlike other reviews, mine held up well for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLOCK08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States