Apple Pecan Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Ah...Comfort food. This made my stove top hating friend's jaw hit the floor when I told her that there was stove top in there! To free up the oven while I cooked the turkey and put the stuffing in the crockpot on high a few hours ahead of time. I stirred once every hour. To offset the sweetness that previous reviewers complained of, I only added one cup of apple juice and one cup of chickeb broth which gave it a slightly sweet flavor which really complemented the apples. Did I mention that this was the first time I ever made homemade stuffing and it was REALLY easy?!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This really didn't come out well for me. It was super dry for some reason. Maybe I need to add more juice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was very tasty. It was a little crumbly, so I might add an egg or some apple juice. If you are serving gravy (I did not) then the consistency is fine. Also, I didn't notice much of an apple or sweet taste. It was a simple recipes to prepare. I would make this again when there are vegetarians for dinner, but I still prefer a cornbread dressing with sausage !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I was not terribly inpressed with this stuffing, however, the rest of the family enjoyed it. I replaced the juice with broth as suggested by other reviewers. I thought it was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was fantastic! I doubled this to take for a work function, and everyone there was begging for the recipe! I may change our traditional family stuffing and make this our new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
The entire table agreed this was the best dressing we'd ever had! For the first time in my life, there was no leftover dressing at the end of the day. I substituted 1 cup raisins for the celery (I had two celery haters at the table -- the raisins tasted great with the apples, I definitely recommend this even if you're using celery too) and used only 1 1/2 cups apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
the best i have ever tasted. not too sweet, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Fabulous!! I didn't get rave reviews on this dressing as we had SO MUCH good food, but seeing as that I prepared most of it and was especially excited to try this recipe I have to say it came out perfect. I love the sweetness and the pecans give it such a nice crunch. I changed the preperation method just a bit to suit my taste: I added the apple juice and chopped apples to the pan of butter, onion, and celery after they where done cooking and I just heated through. In addition to adding the apples, I threw in 3/4 cup of dried cranberries. I couldn't find "herb seasoned dry bread stuffing mix" so I just used poultry seasoning to taste. YUM! This will be a staple in my house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this recipe last Thanksgiving and this year's Thanksgiving and it was a hit. Everyone loved this dish. This dressing is so flavorful and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I think I will stick to making cornbread dressing the way my mom taught me. This was a nice experiment but it was just too sweet for our family's taste. We all missed our traditional family dressing. I wish I could share the recipe, but we don't actually use one. We just mix and season "to taste." I served this dressing to over 20 people (half children) and they all prefer a less sweeter dressing except for my one year old grandson. He loved it and even ate more for lunch the next day. Considering all the good reviews this recipe has received, I am just assuming that if you like sweeter dressing, this might be a hit at your home. It just wasn't at mine. So, I can't honestly give it a high rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma_beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States