Apple Pecan Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Wow, this was good. I made these this afternoon. I had 5 medium gala apples that needed to be used. After reading a lot of reviews I had mixed feelings, but decided to try it anyway. I'm glad I did. I didn't measure the apples. I used all 5 apples I had which was more or less close to 4 cups. I was skeptic about adding a full cup of sugar in the batter, which seemed a lot for only 1 cup of flour, so I cut back to 1/2 cup suggested by some reviewers. I'm so glad I did. One cup would have been way to much. The only other change I made was adding more cinnamon (about 1/4 teas) and 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and sprinkled on top of the apples. I baked it for about 1 hour and 5 mins. I served each of us a piece after dinner. The first bite was delish. My family loved it. I thought it was great but a little to sweet. Everyone else thought it was perfect. This wasn't really a cobbler texture, more cake like. The pecans did it for me. Overall, it was worth all 5 stars. Next time I will add 5 cup of apples, more cinnamon, 1/4 cup of white sugar, 1/4 cup packed brown sugar and remain 1/2 cup of white sugar in the batter. Everything else was perfect. My hubby is eating the last piece as I type this. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoBear

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a definite keeper! Great recipe absolute favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is so yummy that my relatives want me to bring in the next gatherings. This is easy to make and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This is the best home-made apple pie a have ever made at home. It was delicious, juicy, moist, soft. I doubled the recipe and baked it in big 15-11 baking dish. Also I put some apple pieces to batter, mixed it and poured it to the layer of apples in the dish, so the apples would be not only on the bottom of the pie. It came out really good, more moisture, more flavor, more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great recipe! very easy! the only modification I made is I poured a little maple syrup over the apples (always my secret for apple pies!) and I added 1 tsp vanilla to the egg/milk mixture and about 1 tsp cinnamon to the flour mixture. I baked it in a deeper dish and the middle wasn't very done, so next time I'll use a more shallow pan. Thanks, Lori, for a wonderful go-to recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I don't know if this can be called an authentic cobbler or not, but it is delicious! I didn't have pecans on hands, so I used walnuts instead. The recipe received rave reviews. The only reason I even got a piece was because I set mine aside first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I thought this would be wonderful, but it turned out to be very bland! If I make it again I am going to have to add some creativity to give it more flavor and oomph! And it is VERY dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilobell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warba, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
We loved this recipe! I will make this many times more! I didn't have evaporated milk so I used heavy cream instead. It turned out amazing! I will share this recipe with everyone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Easy recipe. A little too dry. More cake like than a cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
When I was small, my grandmother would make apple cobbler all the time, as they had an apple orchard at their disposal. It became something of a tradition to have it when we went to visit. Three weeks ago, we lost my grandma. Using baking as a means of therapy, I made this about two weeks ago. It tasted exactly like Grandma used to make. I was able to sit at my table, taste this cobbler and look back on memories of doing the same with Grandma. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, and for the healing aid. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benzonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beulah, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States