Apple Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
For the flavour family loved the recipe which I made as written. There are a couple of notes that I would like to make. #1 the recipe does not say what size of pan to use. I used an 9 inch skillet and found that it was to large for the recipe. #2 the consistence of the batter was more like that of a crepe but when I check out a crepe recipe found out that the liquid and flour ratio was even less that this. Family has already requested that I make again which I will do but will try to have the batter more of a pancake consistence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Charles Burge
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Nice & simple - I drizzled maple syrup over a piece for added flavor. But 2 servings? Are you kidding? This is easily enough for 4 for either breakfast or dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Burge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
It was delicious! I did use two egg whites in exchange for each egg. This lightened it up a bit in fat and calories. My husband could not tell the difference from using whole eggs. A winning recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Absolutely delicious and doesn't even need syrup, which I was shocked about. Used 3 tablespoons total of sugar (1 to go with the apple if it's in season, 1 in the batter) and 1 less egg based on other reviews and that was perfect. This is a perfect quick easy breakfast/brunch to serve for overnight guests! I made it in a cast iron skillet then traveled with it which was dumb - it kept cooking until the pan cooled so it was quite dense by the time I got there. I should have warmed the plate and then driven it on there. UPDATE: Made this with the # of eggs called for and can confirm it's definitely too much - it came out like a fritatta. Will use 3 from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Delicious, although I did change it to use dark brown sugar and reduced the amount. It gave it a wonderful caramel flavor. But, the basic recipe is very good and familiar as a Dutch or German pancake. Those who say it is too eggy have apparently never had this type of pancake before, or never ate at the old Pannekuechen restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great recipe! Made this for Sunday brunch with some maple sausage patties. You don't need any syrup on these. They are sweet enough by themselves but so good! After reading some reviews I decided to use only 3 eggs instead of 4. I also used ? cup sugar since some reviewers said the original recipe was really sweet and used 2T of margarine since 3 seemed like a lot to me. Since I didn't have dairy milk I used almond milk and added nutmeg. Thanks for a tasty treat for a Sunday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is a great breakfast with bacon or ham. A special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great recipe! I have made this many many times since I found it on AR. Very simple to make and you have chose a variety of fruits to make it with. Our favorite is blueberry. This will become a weekend household favorite for your family after the first time you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Like one reviewer, I used a cast iron skillet. The texture was not what I expected, but still good. Next time I will decrease the sugar and use 1 less egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very nice for breakfast. I cooked mine in a cast iron skillet. It's not like a traditional pancake but in between a sweet pancake and a quiche. I followed the recipe except, I only used 3 eggs since mine were very large. Perfect! I could see using this as dessert if you wanted to with some ice cream on top while still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States