Apple Pan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was very good. I made it as written except I omitted the thyme and I subbed walnuts and cranraisins for the pine nuts and currants. I think the pine nuts would of been better especially if they were toasted and chopped. I also chopped the cranraisins. I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper before sauteing. I thickened the pan juices with a little water and cornstarch. My apples of choice were 2 golden delicious and 1 red delicious. I served this over white rice. Keep the salt shaker handy. I had to salt it while eating. This recipe is a nice combo of sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I didn't use any pine nuts or jalapenos for different people's tastes/allergies and, since i didn't have any apple juice on hand, I used a hard apple cider. Everything else was exactly as the recipe said and I thought it turned out wonderfully. It was warm and unique and gave a nice fruity spice to chicken. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I served this for guests and it was a hit. I used raisins instead of currants and walnuts instead of pine nuts. Next time I would chop the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
My boyfriend and I loved this. I left out the currants because I didn't have any, and I used boneless, skinless turkey breast instead of chicken. I thought the jalapeno peppers were a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was so good! I loved the thyme with it, really gave it something special. I doubled the amount of apple juice, reserving some and adding a bit of cornstarch to it, to thicken the sauce. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I was surprised at well my family liked this dish. I used dried cherries instead of currants and the taste was fabulous. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Was an easy and delicious receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
My 21 month old LOVED this dish (as did my husband and I). I have prepared similar dishes from this site - chicken with peaches, chicken with apricots, and they both went over well, so I thought I'd give this a try. Very easy to put together - and I think we'll be making it a LOT this fall when our apples are ready for picking. I would recommend seasoning the chicken with salt and pepper before cooking it - I have found that helps a lot of recipes (I think some writers think seasoning the meat is just a given and don't include it as a step, but as a novice cook - I can tell you it wasn't something I had ever thought of doing w/o instruction until I met my husband who always does it at the start of a recipe) Great dish for fall - although just as tasty served with sweet peas and mashed potatoes in the spring too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I prepared this as directed but after cooking the recommended time in a covered skillet it was still so soupy. So I kept the lid off, turned up the heat a bit to brown the chicken and let the juices reduce... Then it was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I had a bag of apples in the fridge I was trying to use and found this recipe. As I had all the ingredients, I thought I'd give it a try. The flavors went together well. The thyme especially gave the dish a great flavor. The next time I think I will add a little chicken stock/broth to give a more saucy consistancy to spoon over some rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISHKABIBIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States