Apple Pan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Very nice. I used rasins rather than currents since that is what i had. I would also recommened toasting the pine nuts, it brings out their taste and gives a nice crunch. I also added 1/2 t of allspice which gives a nice wintery flavor. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
Very interesting and unusual flavor, however I added 1/4 cup sugar to sweeten it a bit, as it seemed a bit in limbo between a sweet dish and non-sweet dish. Do NOT overdo the thyme as I did. It gives the dish the signature flavor, but overdone, it will overpower. The prep time seemed to take a bit longer than 10 minutes, but I have little experience paring apples and that took more time, and I chose to cut the chicken breasts into bite-size chunks rather than use the whole breasts. The overall flavor is not spectacular, but it is nice over rice and very different. Definitely worth a shake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
We enjoy all the ingredients in this dish, so I thought we might like it. Unfortunately it wasn't well received at the table. Not wanting to waste the chicken breasts, I coated them with a thin marinade of dijon and a touch of garlic flavored olive oil then cut them in strips over a big leafy romaine and spinach salad. I suppose the fact that they had chilled and combined nicely with the greens made this a better luncheon salad than it did a dinner. Thanks Isadore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
My 21 month old LOVED this dish (as did my husband and I). I have prepared similar dishes from this site - chicken with peaches, chicken with apricots, and they both went over well, so I thought I'd give this a try. Very easy to put together - and I think we'll be making it a LOT this fall when our apples are ready for picking. I would recommend seasoning the chicken with salt and pepper before cooking it - I have found that helps a lot of recipes (I think some writers think seasoning the meat is just a given and don't include it as a step, but as a novice cook - I can tell you it wasn't something I had ever thought of doing w/o instruction until I met my husband who always does it at the start of a recipe) Great dish for fall - although just as tasty served with sweet peas and mashed potatoes in the spring too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was so good! I loved the thyme with it, really gave it something special. I doubled the amount of apple juice, reserving some and adding a bit of cornstarch to it, to thicken the sauce. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I used only 1/2 jalapeno, concerned it might be too spicy for my mother in law, and she loved it, as did my husband and guests. Clean, warm taste, not "hot". Next time, I will add an additional clove garlic, as we like garlic, in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Very nice dish. I found I needed more oil (about 3T) and in the future I would reduce the thyme to 1t - that flavor was too strong for me. The pine nut & jalapeno were a very nice touch. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I served this for guests and it was a hit. I used raisins instead of currants and walnuts instead of pine nuts. Next time I would chop the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was very good. I made it as written except I omitted the thyme and I subbed walnuts and cranraisins for the pine nuts and currants. I think the pine nuts would of been better especially if they were toasted and chopped. I also chopped the cranraisins. I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper before sauteing. I thickened the pan juices with a little water and cornstarch. My apples of choice were 2 golden delicious and 1 red delicious. I served this over white rice. Keep the salt shaker handy. I had to salt it while eating. This recipe is a nice combo of sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Was an easy and delicious receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States