Apple Pan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2002
Very interesting and unusual flavor, however I added 1/4 cup sugar to sweeten it a bit, as it seemed a bit in limbo between a sweet dish and non-sweet dish. Do NOT overdo the thyme as I did. It gives the dish the signature flavor, but overdone, it will overpower. The prep time seemed to take a bit longer than 10 minutes, but I have little experience paring apples and that took more time, and I chose to cut the chicken breasts into bite-size chunks rather than use the whole breasts. The overall flavor is not spectacular, but it is nice over rice and very different. Definitely worth a shake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
We enjoy all the ingredients in this dish, so I thought we might like it. Unfortunately it wasn't well received at the table. Not wanting to waste the chicken breasts, I coated them with a thin marinade of dijon and a touch of garlic flavored olive oil then cut them in strips over a big leafy romaine and spinach salad. I suppose the fact that they had chilled and combined nicely with the greens made this a better luncheon salad than it did a dinner. Thanks Isadore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I used only 1/2 jalapeno, concerned it might be too spicy for my mother in law, and she loved it, as did my husband and guests. Clean, warm taste, not "hot". Next time, I will add an additional clove garlic, as we like garlic, in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I served this for guests and it was a hit. I used raisins instead of currants and walnuts instead of pine nuts. Next time I would chop the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
My boyfriend and I loved this. I left out the currants because I didn't have any, and I used boneless, skinless turkey breast instead of chicken. I thought the jalapeno peppers were a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Very nice. I used rasins rather than currents since that is what i had. I would also recommened toasting the pine nuts, it brings out their taste and gives a nice crunch. I also added 1/2 t of allspice which gives a nice wintery flavor. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was so good! I loved the thyme with it, really gave it something special. I doubled the amount of apple juice, reserving some and adding a bit of cornstarch to it, to thicken the sauce. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Very nice dish. I found I needed more oil (about 3T) and in the future I would reduce the thyme to 1t - that flavor was too strong for me. The pine nut & jalapeno were a very nice touch. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
The ingredients looked delicious, but the dish ended up being a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Juat a bit too different, although my kids did ask for doubles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States