Apple Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This doesn't taste like it's good for you! I added about 3/4c. raisins, and substituted the margarine with 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce and used applesauce for the apples. Increased the cinnamon to a fat teaspoon, and added a pinch nutmeg,ginger, and cloves. This will be our new favorite cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Taste absolutely amazing, but I had to make small changes: I added .5 C of brown sugar for extra sweetness, which I think was necessary after tasting them. I also had to add more flour after my first batch came out somewhat flat and near impossible to take off of the cookie sheet. I'd increase flour to at least 1 1/4 C. Also, a tip is leave them out of an air-tight container at least for the first night. I put mine in after they were out for about an hour, and they were somewhat pancake-like in "crispness" the next day. It didn't affect the flavour, I just prefer crispier cookies. Beyond those small changes, these were FANTASTIC, like a healthy bowl of apple cinnamon oatmeal inside a cookie. The house smelled great while they were cooking, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
These make great snacks for kids... wholesome ingredients and NO refined sugars. I added 1 large ripe mashed banana into the wet ingredients to increase sweetness. I also used applesauce instead of chopped apples because my boys still have problems eating things with lots of texture. I also would recommend increasing the cinnamon to one full teaspoon. Making them this way, I came out with slightly less than 4 dozen, and the cookies were somewhat cakelike. They were yummy and my toddlers ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
These cookies have great texture, but all that honey doesn't make them sweet. Add a half-cup of brown sugar to make them delicious! Also, these were FAR too small; use bigger drops than 1 tsp.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Thank you for this recipe! I prefer to only use natural sugar and whole wheat flour, so I was excited to try these cookies. I don't use margarine (I'd recommend using butter instead as there is nothing natural about margarine) and we have dairy and egg allergies in the family, so I replaced the margarine with the same amount of unsweetened applesauce and used 1/2 a mashed banana for the egg. I also didn't feel like cutting up an apple, so I used 1/2 cup raisins. I love the way they came out: moist, chewy, just the right of sweetness, and all wholesome ingredients! My two year old and I gobbled them up! In fact, my biggest problem was not eating all the cookies in one sitting. They're so small; it's easy to have just one more! I'm looking forward to experimenting with this recipe and will definitely try with the apples. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Thank you, I have been looking for a recipe like this; all-natural sweeteners, all food ingredients, something I can eat when hungry without feeling guilty or ill. I made a couple changes: I creamed 2/3 c applesauce in with the wet ingredients in place of the chopped apple to save work. I also used 1 c rolled oats and 1/2 c quick oats instead of all quick oats. I also used real butter in place of margarine. These are VERY good and are quickly becoming my lunch. I'm going to bake a ton of them and put them in the freezer for quick snacks and breakfasts. P.S. The cookies are very moist when made with 2/3 c applesauce and might fall apart easily when being removed from the cookie sheet. I used parchment paper underneath the cookies in place of greasing the sheets, so I didn't have this problem. I just slid the paper off the cookie sheets on to the counter to cool after allowing them to cool on the sheets for five minutes. They are a hold-in-the-hand cookie instead of a hold-by-the-edge cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I replaced the oil with applesauce and they still turned out great! Very moist for a low fat cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
These were all right cookies. The texture reminded me more of a spongy cake than of a cookie. Also, I would suggest shredding or mincing the apples as "chopping" did not make them small enough for them to be evenly distributed in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrington, Washington, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Good recipe! I tweaked it a bit -- added 1/2 cup brown sugar for sweetness, 1/4 cup flour (used white instead of wheat flour) to thicken a little, 1/2 teas. cinnamon for more flavor, 1/2 cup craisins, and 1/2 cup white chocolate chips. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
These cookies are an excellent healthy alternative! They were very simple to make, and they stay very moist even after several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States