Apple Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
very quick to put together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Vratsa, Vratsa, Bulgaria
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made the recipe as written, only substituting butter for margerine. They came out very moist and not too sweet which I like a lot. I'll make them again using applesauce instead of butter and maybe adding some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Unimpressive, although that could have been my fault for replacing all of the fat with applesauce. I added some wheat germ and a ton of spices because they were kind weak on flavor, but I think with the addition of some milk they might have made decent mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Took other reviewers' advice and added ginger, nutmeg, and extra cinnamon. Used white flour (it's all I had) and cookies came out soft and cakey. Unexpected, but everyone enjoyed them as cake cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
The second time I made this, I made it exactly per recipe (except for using butter instead of margarine) and they came out perfect. Delicately sweet, appley, good to adults and my preschoolers. The first time I made it, I subbed half-brown sugar with half-honey because I was short on the honey. Texture was fine, but I experimented with the second half of the dough to see if I'd like it sweeter - added a little extra brown sugar - and then they didn't hold together well. Will stick to the recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Great cookie! I have a sweet tooth so I took the suggestions and added brown sugar (about a 1/2 cup). Also added a little more oatmeal (about 1/4-1/2 cup), and added extra apple. My husband was looking for something semi-healthy to snack on during work, and I think this hit the spot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSYGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Thank you for this recipe! I prefer to only use natural sugar and whole wheat flour, so I was excited to try these cookies. I don't use margarine (I'd recommend using butter instead as there is nothing natural about margarine) and we have dairy and egg allergies in the family, so I replaced the margarine with the same amount of unsweetened applesauce and used 1/2 a mashed banana for the egg. I also didn't feel like cutting up an apple, so I used 1/2 cup raisins. I love the way they came out: moist, chewy, just the right of sweetness, and all wholesome ingredients! My two year old and I gobbled them up! In fact, my biggest problem was not eating all the cookies in one sitting. They're so small; it's easy to have just one more! I'm looking forward to experimenting with this recipe and will definitely try with the apples. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
A great cookie to make with apples. I found the cookies not very sweet though. I added a tablespoon of brown sugar to the batter and then, once the cookie have cooled - a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar or icing sugar (or both).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Thank you, I have been looking for a recipe like this; all-natural sweeteners, all food ingredients, something I can eat when hungry without feeling guilty or ill. I made a couple changes: I creamed 2/3 c applesauce in with the wet ingredients in place of the chopped apple to save work. I also used 1 c rolled oats and 1/2 c quick oats instead of all quick oats. I also used real butter in place of margarine. These are VERY good and are quickly becoming my lunch. I'm going to bake a ton of them and put them in the freezer for quick snacks and breakfasts. P.S. The cookies are very moist when made with 2/3 c applesauce and might fall apart easily when being removed from the cookie sheet. I used parchment paper underneath the cookies in place of greasing the sheets, so I didn't have this problem. I just slid the paper off the cookie sheets on to the counter to cool after allowing them to cool on the sheets for five minutes. They are a hold-in-the-hand cookie instead of a hold-by-the-edge cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The cookies were very bland. Not inedible, but definitely not for someone with a sweet tooth like mine. I think I'll try adding brown sugar next time and see if they're any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States