Apple Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
GREAT RECIPE!! WHAT I DID WITH IT HOWEVER WAS INSTEAD OF PUTTING APPLES, I PUT STRAWBERRY JAM AND CUT DOWN THE SUGAR. THEN I PUT HALF WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR AND THEN THE OTHER HALF WHITE. IT IS EXCELLENT. MY HUSBAND HAS BEEN TAKING THIS TO WORK EVERY DAY!! I MAKE IT ON SUNDAY NIGHT AND HE EATS IT FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Too salty! The salt and soda overpowered the apples -- and I even used unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
I used about half of the butter and added cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and cloves. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
This really is more like apple crisp and not a bar. Very difficult to eat as a bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2000
Very dry. With how rich this recipe is with all the butter it should be better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
This recipe was incredible! It reminded me of the apple crisp they served in elementary school. This is a delicious Fall treat that is even more so with a scoop of ice cream on top. Thank you for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
"My family loved this recipe! So easy to make, I could't believe that it would turn out to be a bar, but it sure did. I added tsp. of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg to the crumb recipe, since we like cinnamon. Also a little more apples."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
Quite good, but a little too sweet and rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2000
With a 1/4 reduction in the amount of butter, this still turned out moist and delicious! The dessert was more crumbly than like a bar. It can't be picked up and eaten with hands, but it's still really good. The slight tanginess from the apples and the sugary texture of it is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
A great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States