Apple Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was really crummy (pun intended). The "bars" did not stick together and the recipe was not even tasty enough to pass for a crisp. A huge waste of time/ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
made this last night and received a big WOW from my husband. We loved the taste. I'm gonna make this again on Christmas. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Not very impressed. Added cinnamon and nutmeg and was still on the bland side. Not very bar-like. Ended up throwing out half the pan. I agree with the reviewer who mentioned the too predominant taste of salt and soda. There was something just a little bit off in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I have been using this recipe since 2003. As I got the stained, dog-eared printed version out to make today, I decided I would chime in! This is fabulous- perhaps too crumbly to be considered bars- but it is rich and nummy, and versitile( I have been known to throw in blackberries, blueberries or whatever is in season with the apples)! Cut down the butter a bit if you want, and have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Great recipe! I used about half the amount of brown sugar, and I substituted unsweetened applesauce for half of the butter. I also melted the butter and stirred it in rather than cutting it in. Mine turn out like bars as long as I let them cool completely before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This recipe was very good... not quite my favorite, but still yummy. I added cinnamon and a sprinkle of nutmeg, because my opinion is that any recipe like this MUST have cinnamon! Probably won't make again, but we still enjoyed it quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This was great! My son's Kindergarten Class loved them. I took another batch to work and everyone scarfed them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Delicious! I'm just an amature cook... and so I almost made the mistake of pressing down on the crumbs for the bottom... ! luckily a keen observer stopped me, and I left the bottom all crumbly. Very easy and delicious bar! =P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
These bars are delicious. I used only 2/3 of a cup of butter and mixed it with my hands. It worked really well. I ate these bars for dessert and also with my coffee in the morning. Will definetly make these agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Not Impressed. Not quite bars, not quite "Apple Crisp" as your husband calls it, not quite an "apple crumble" due to the size + construction. The flavor was bland, and certainly there are better tasting apple-oatmeal-bake-type recipes out there. Certainly there are others using less than an entire 2 STICKS (1 cup) of butter!! My arteries are hardening as we speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States