Apple Nut Cake with Rum Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
This is added to my favorite cake recipes. I recieved many compliments. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
I had to cook it 70 minutes, not 40. It turned out very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I dared to exchange the rum flavoring for the real thing, medium priced golden rum. It was delish! I scaled it down to 8 servings too, cause I wanted to share with family and friends, and not have too much left over, in case I got midnight cravings. heehee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Oh my goodness! I substituted walnuts for the pecans and didn't use the butter flavoring... but oh, my... what a wonderful thing! At first I was a bit nervous because the batter was quite stiff - more like a dough than a batter. My company LOVED this. My daughter insisted that folks try it without the sauce (or whip cream!) stating it was just as yummy without. She was right! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
this is a very yummy cake, was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Delicious served warm with a scoop of Vanilla icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Oh My Goodness this is so good. I didn't have any rum flavoring or butter flavoring so I used 1/2 c real butter and 1/2 cup margarine and 2+ tsp real rum for sauce. This sauce is really good over vanilla ice cream too. I used Fuji Apples and pecans. YUMMO. It did take another 10 minutes to cook and I used a Pyrex dish so I was surprised it took longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I followed the directions exactly and the results were a delicious and very moist cake. We ate the first slices of cake warm and then put it in the refrigerator. It was excellent either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is the most Awesome cake I've ever had. I substituted real butter for the margarine and dropped the butter flavoring. I took the cake to work, where it was immediately gobbled up! I will definitely make this cake again, but for special occasions because of its sugar/fat content. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSECHASER62

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blueknight34
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I did this and added a pack (1/2 cup) of dried cranberries just because I like cranberries. Made two of them for a Work Group Christmas Dinner and their wasn't a bite left over. Everyone loved it. It might look like a meat loaf in the picture but it tastes awesome. So moist and flavorful. The prep time and sauce is a little extra work but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States