Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Double your spices, very bland as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Very moist muffin, I added double the apples and cinnamon! Yummy! This recipe is now going to be a regular. I also freeze them individually and take them in our lunches or outings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Tried this today....took advice of former reviewers and doubled the cinnamon and doubled the apples. I also used a topping posted by another reviewer with 1/4 cup chopped walnuts, 1/4 packed brown sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I didn't fill them more than a half so they cooked in 15 minutes. They were really moist and yummy....thanks for the suggestion of doubling the apples. I will definitely be making this again. My husband said WOW at the first bite !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This recipe is rated FAR too highly. First of all, I want to say that the product does not come out like a muffin. That's the most important aspect of my review. THIS MUFFIN IS NOT MUFFIN-LIKE. It's bready and bland. I made the recipe EXACTLY as printed, two times, with two different brands of all purpose flour, and there was a huge problem with the batter not having enough liquid. It was barely wet enough to make a dough, much less muffin batter, so I had to add liquid both times. I only added enough apple juice to make the stuff come together loosely. And even with that, I had to add at least 1/2 cup more juice. This recipe comes up far too short on liquid to chalk the issue up to different rates of absorbancy in different flours. Additionally, in my professional opinion (I am a professional pastry chef), I had a sneaky suspicion that the quantity of oil was far, far too low. You know what? It is. These are just barely moist. One single IOTA less oil, and they would be BONE DRY. You could DOUBLE the oil, and it would probably not hurt the final product. In fact, it would probably be really good. I'm going to try that later. All that said, the recipe was still edible, but it IS NOT A MUFFIN, DOES NOT RESEMBLE A MUFFIN, IS BLAND, AND DOES NOT IMPRESS. Even if I were coming at this recipe from a layman's perspective, if I had wanted a fluffy, cakey apple, I would have been disappointed in this. It should be called apple quick bread, at the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZeroCreature

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
It's nice, but it definitely needs at least double the amount of apples because it doesn't taste apple-like...otherwise,the dough is really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I took the suggestions of others and doubled the apples and cinnamon. These were fantastic! I was looking for a nice light snack that would fill me up in between meals and this hits the spot. Definitely double the apples and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Good recipe. I used brown sugar instead of white, added plain yogurt and cut down on the amount of oil. I also added a topping before baking made of oats, brown sugar, melted butter and cinnamon. Next time I will also try adding apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Fabulous recipe that the whole family loved. I read all the reviews and incorporated several into my muffins. I used two cups shredded apples, added one tsp of apple pie spice (as well as the cinnamon), increased the sugar to 3/4 cup, and added Donnainnc's crumbled topping she adds to all fruit muffins. Of course this increased the baking time but these muffins were so good that I didn't mind the kitchen cleanup. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Delicious! My sons loved them, even my picky 3 year old! Doubled the cinnamon but other than that followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely be making again=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Yummy but a little dry. I agree that more apple would help. I added a struesel topping of brown sugar, flour and butter cut together. It added a little more color to the top and a nice "bite" when eating. Great with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States