Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Unlike almost every other reviewer so far, I made these muffins exactly as specified. I appreciated that they were quick and easy to make, and they made a small batch (I ate all twelve by myself over 5 days). They were also nice and light and fluffy. However, I thought the cinnamon taste was pretty much indiscernible, and the body of the muffins didn't taste very apple-y (the apple pieces were very good though). So I can see why so many others added lots more cinnamon and apples. If you want nice, mild-tasting and not heavy muffins, these are very good. If you're looking for a hearty, strong-flavored apple muffin, this recipe won't do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
All I can say about these is.....Oh my God! They were amazing. Not too sweet and I even added a few tablespoons of brown sugar too. I do have a standard topping that I use with any fruit muffin and added to these muffins...and they were incredible! To make it...use...1 cup instant oats, 1 cup all purpose flour, 1 cup brown sugar, 1/4 teaspoon each of baking powder and baking soda and 1/2 cup melted butter and mix together until crumbly. Sprinkle this (there will be well more than enough) so...add lots..to the top of these muffins. As an added and amazing touch...I melted carmels with a little cream and did a drizzle of that on top of the crumb topping after they were cooled. Everyone that has had them today...are in sheer heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I've tried many apple muffin and bread recipes, and this one was absolutely OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! It may have been the apple juice in the recipe, but the muffin tasted so apple-y...I was in heaven because I love everything apple! I made a few changes in the recipe: I used 1 tablespoon of canola oil in place of the egg and used 1/3 cup of milk instead of the 1/3 cup of oil. I also left the skin on the apples; you can't tell the difference once the muffins are baked anyway. The end result was a soft, moist and fruity muffin. This one is going in the favorite recipe drawer. I'll defintely make this one again...5 stars. Thanks SO much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
These were very good. However, I suggest you use between 2-2 1/2 cups apples to get them to really taste like apple muffins. I would also double the cinnamon. I did use a mixture of cinnamon and brown sugar to sprinkle on top as someone else suggested. They turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
My 5 year old son and I just made these todayand had a great time together. My husband and son loved these. There aren't any left. But I did add about 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 tsp of cinn. together and sprinkled on top-it was a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
These muffins were really good! I took the advice of others and doubled the cinnamon as well as the chopped apples, and sprinkled brown sugar on the tops. Also, to lower the fat content I substituted 1/3 cup of strained prunes babyfood for the oil. (*Using the prunes does not effect the taste, or final product, but is much healthier! Its great for using in cakes and cupcakes as well!*)The muffins baked perfectly after 20 minutes, they weren't too sweet but still full of flavour and were a big success with my family! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker-@-Heart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
Tasty and moist. I made the muffins even more irresistible by topping the batter with a mixture of 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts, 1/4 cup of packed brown sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon before baking. I also increased the amount of chopped apples a bit. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I substituted the egg for 1/2 banana and 1 tsp baking powder (my son is allergic) and sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon on top as someone else suggested. Thumbs up! These were so quick easy and kid friendly that I even made these with my son's preschool class with apples from our orchard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
My family loves this recipe! Moreover, it makes the whole house smell lovely. I use 2 cups of apples which is equivalent to 1.5 medium sized apples. They're delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Fabulous...Light airy. Not too sweet. Very good. I used twice as much cinnamon and added walnuts...DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States