Apple Maple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by westcoastmom
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a great apple crumble. Not too sweet, but not too much maple flavor either. I used pure grade b maple syrup. I use ambrosia apples which hold their shape and are a little tart. There is a depth of flavour in this that other crumbles do not have, so I think that comes from the maple syrup. If you want more of a maple flavor, I would suggest to incorporate some maple into the crumble topping. Perhaps use maple butter or maple sugar. I will make this again! EDIT: After it sat a day it took on way more flavour and was absolutely delish with some maple walnut ice cream! Let it sit a day and you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hauwa
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
It was my first time and I kinda didn't stick to d measurements so mine turned out quite sweet. Was a great attempt at it though...didn't change anything. I found it easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I will try this again with some tweaking. I made it exactly to the specs of the recipe. The flavor of the crumble is decadent but the maple syrup makes it way too sweet. And, I think some spices will knock it out of the park. So...less syrup, add cinnamon and nutmeg. Also...depending on how thick you cut the apples, your cooking time may vary. I put it in the oven and set the timer to 35 minutes. I checked it at about 23 minutes and it was bubbly, brown and the apples were very tender so I pulled it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used sugar free syrup and added craisens and chopped walnuts. It was absolutely delicious! I baked it 10 minutes more until the topping looked brown or crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
So delicious and easy to make! I used apples from our apple tree and everyone that tried this loved it! I have also used the topping on other cobbler dishes, and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Simple, delicious. Our family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
i just made this. the topping is yummy but i got an apple soup instead of bake. the pan was half soup half apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
The crumble on top was amazing. It was apple soup out of the pan. I thought refrigeration would solidify it but it didn't. Would adding flour to the apple/maple syrup mix help? Extremely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Great flavor! I made a couple of changes that people recommended, and this bumped it up to a 5/5. I used honey crisp apples and lightly coated them in cinnamon as I put them in the pan, and cut maple syrup down to 1/2 cup. Then in the topping mix I added cinnamon and a pumpkin pie spice mix (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, etc). Took about 15-20 min longer to cook than recipe said. There was definitely some water in the dish from the apples, so next time I might try tossing the apples in cinnamon and flour as others suggested to thicken this up. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Made recipe exactly as written, no deviations. It was simply divine, very rich. I used Macintosh, perhaps next time I will use apples that are little less sweet. I served it right away and it was quite runny, but by the time it cooled down, it had thickened up and when reheated the next day it did not become runny again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States