Apple Maple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This recipe was better than my favorite standard apple crisp, which was hard to beat! I added cranberries and raisins, and tossed the apples in a tbsp of lemon juice, added the cinnamon and nutmeg to the topping that others suggested, and used blueberry flavoured maple syrup and it was amazing! The crunchy topping was such a delightful change from regular crisp recipes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Very easy recipe to throw together. I didn't have the 2/3 cup of maple syrup called for in the recipe, I used what I had (just enough to drizzle over the top of the apples) and it wasn't too sweet, just right. I also sprinkled a little cinnamon over the top of the apples before adding the crust. My family loved it. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Make this recipe one evening to take to work the next day. I doubled it and put it in a 9x13 pan. The only change I made to the recipe is the addition of a dash of both cinnamon and nutmeg to the topping (just enough to taste a hint of each). Warmed it in the microwave (uncovered) when I got it to work, and the topping was amazingly still crunchy and crisp like it had come right out of the oven. Everyone loved it - it all went really quickly. Great recipe in the autumn when you have lots of apples to use up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
After reading all of the reviews with the changes that were made, I still decided to make this exactly as written. After baking it (and eating it) I found this recipe needed no changes, no "tweaking." The amount of topping was just right, it was not too runny (if you bake it long enough and allow the juices to thicken as it cools), had the perfect level of sweetness, and needed no spices. It's a good, basic apple crisp. Still, it was somewhat disappointing in that I had high hopes for a more prominent maple flavor and it just wasn't there, even though I used the stronger Grade B maple syrup. So while this was very good, it doesn't really set itself apart from other apple crisp recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Using other recommendations and tweaking: Sliced apples and put into 8x8 pan and added 1 cup frozen blueberries. Tossed all with 1 tbs flour, 1 tbs cornstarch and 3 tbs lemon juice. Sprinkled top with nutmeg and cinnamon. Let sit. Topped with 1/2 cup maple syrup and 2x amount of topping. Bake for about 40-45 min. Nice and bubbly, not soupy at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
This was so simple to prepare and so delicious. I brought it to a dinner party and there was none left. I used a combination of grany smith and macintosh apples. I might add some raisins next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
It wasn't what I was expecting but everyone loved it anyway! I used fake maple syrup and it still tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
The Volunteer Ladies at work thought this was wonderful. I suggest serving small pieces because it is SWEET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Really good pie in a cold evening! I used chopped almonds instead of rolled oats. Also I sprinkled apples with fresh lemon juice and used slightly less sugar, so the pie was not too sweet. I made it for my friends and there were no leftovers! Thanks for the recipe, Helene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Wow, was this great!! I was wondering what I would do with all of these apples.... I added some nutmeg and cinnamon, and sprinkled in some raisins, the second time that I made it and it turned out even better!! Great over ice cream....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States