Apple Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe once before. I used 1 cup of apples as indicated. I added 2 tsp of cinnamon,and 1/4 tsp of ginger.Added a box of vanilla pudding mix and it was delicious. Am making it again at this very moment. Varied a bit also. Added 2 cups of shredded apples,lemon pudding mix, and we'll see how it tastes in 1 hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Loved this recipe. Wasn't dry at all for us, but we used almost two cups of shredded apples. Otherwise we stayed with the recipe 100%. My family is already begging for more. Going to try doubling it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Not great. The flavor was very bland, but the bread was moist. Definitely needs some cinnamon. Looking for a different Apple Bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great recipe! I made the following changes after reading the other reviews. I used 1/2c white sugar with 1/2c of brown sugar. I substituted Crisco oil for the butter. I used 1.5 cups of Macintosh apple. Next time, I'll add a dash of cinnamon and I'll consider adding a bit of milk. All in all, a fantastic loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I made it for the first time and since some reviews said its a bit dry, added a bit extra butter and it came out great and moist :-)!!! Baking time right on 55 minutes, very tasty! recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Haven
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This recipe is delicious. I've been using it for a couple years for our family's annual Apple Fest, we bake the loaves in mini ceramic loaf pans I find at Michael's for $1 every fall. As suggested in other reviews, for 12 servings I add 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp cloves. I also add a crumble to the top because the kids love making it--butter, a bit of flour, brown sugar, a bit of cinnamon. 12 servings makes 3 mini loaf pans. The mini loaves typically take about 30 minutes to bake in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Great recipe!I also added 2 cups of shredded apples as seen on other reviews for moisture.My batter was looking more like a cookie dough so I added 1/2 cup of water.I also baked it in a bundt pan and it turned out delicious!!It was golden brown,moist and yummy!Success at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was good the only reason for only four stars is because I did alter it a bit. I used two cups of shredded apple, added cinnamon and used applesauce instead of butter. It turned out amazing. I also had to bake it for 70 minute as some of the other reviews stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I found this recipe to be pretty tasteless and dry. I suppose with a few tweaks, it could be a fairly decent recipe but, all in all, I'm really not that committed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Based on others' suggestions, I used 2 cups of apples, replaced the butter with equal part canola oil, and added 1 tsp of cinnamon as well as a dash of cloves. If you decide to use MacIntosh apples, you can get away with using less oil because these apples break down easily when cooked and will provide enough moisture (especially if using 2 cups). However, in that case, you might want to use a mix of apples; otherwise, you won't get the apple chunks that make the loaf so good. I baked it for 70 minutes. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States