Apple Jicama Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This is delicious! Very refreshing, loved the crisp element from the apple and jicama! This is a keeper at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Garden Valley, Idaho, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Great! - A Killer recipe! The Corn Nuts are not optional! Fresh, delicious and oh so good! I served this with Coconut crusted chicken and grilled pineapple and peppers. A perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
My whole family really enjoyed this salad. It was a nice change of pace to traditional coleslaw. My only variation was the CornNuts. I couldn't locate them. (My husband suggested I grab a handful from a bar!) I used sesame sticks instead. I just broke them up a bit and sprinkled them over the top before serving. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
A perfect addition to any BBQ.i will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Amazing twist on slaw! I did add some pineapple chunks and some bleu cheese crumbles wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is great! I didn't add corn nuts and used lemon juice instead of pineapple juice. I think day 2 is best for eating it as the flavors can marinate with themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I will make this again and again. I have never had a coleslaw I actually liked before this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Francine Lizotte
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Wow! Amazing taste and flavor, totally a keeper! I added 1 tsp. of sriracha and thank God I listened to my husband for not adding more otherwise it would've been too hot for us. Also I didn't have any cabbage and felt lazy to go to the grocery store so used Romaine lettuce instead. It was actually pretty good but I am convinced that using cabbage (red or green) would've been a better choice. Also substituted sunflower seeds for corn nuts. Can't wait to make this again. Another fabulous recipe from Chef John...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francine Lizotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is a really nice "change of pace" coleslaw recipe! I've never used Jicama before and bought an old, thick skinned one which didn't have the nice sweet flavor it should have had...so I only put a small amount in the salad. Next time I'll know better. But the flavor was great and the colors of green and red were festive enough for the Christmas potluck we took it to...everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was good but not fantastic. I didn't think the dressing had enough kick to it. Most people who ate it Easter dinner thought it was bland. May try it again and tweek the dressing somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Apple Coleslaw

See how to make a sweet twist on classic coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States