Apple Hermits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe. I was concerned that the batter looked dry, but after reading some other comments, I left it as is. The cookies turned out moist after baking. I did add a teaspoon or so of vanilla, because I love it. Like others suggested, I substituted pecans and dried cranberries, because that is what I had on hand. I used about 1 1/2 c of apple. I omitted the icing, because they are already delicious without it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I added 1/4 c molasses and baked them as bars. Only 20 min, delightfully undercooked and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These are very good. I substituted butterscotch chips for the raisins and didn't make the glaze. I shredded the apples and left out nutmeg and cloves. These seem to work better with a small scoop rather than the large. Edit: changed this from 5 to 4... The flavor is good, but the presentation isn't that great. They spread quite a bit and don't really hold their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I dunno what I managed to do, but my mix turned out like sand. Maybe I got a bit too enthusiastic with the butter creaming. I added an additional egg and a half a cup of milk to get back to cookie dough. Cookies were enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
These are wonderful. I didn't make the glaze since I didn't have milk, but the cookies don't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZERBE6982

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I just finished making these cookies and they turned out great! I ended up adding more than a cup of chopped apples, more like 2 cups. The batter was very wet so I added a 1/4 of a cup of whole wheat pastry flour and also added a 1/2 tsp. of vanilla because I love vanilla in everything. Perfect. They are soft and cake like. The whole house smells wonderful. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Love this recipe! I was generous with the spices and used craisins instead of raisins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saphyress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. I do not add the raisins, and I shred the apples rather than cut them up. The cookies are much moister this way, and fluffy. Family loves them. Fresh applies make the best cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
YUMMY!! These hermits are great! I only had 1/2 a cup of brown sugar so I used that plus 1 cup of white sugar and a tablespoon of molasses. Also, the dough was very crumbly so I added about 2 tablespoons of applesauce to moisten it. I did not add nuts or use the glaze,just preference.-- they were GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I added 1/2 bag of butterscotch chips, used 1 cup wheat flour, and omitted the cloves. I didn't measure the apples but finely diced 3 apples. I know it was a LOT more than the one cup suggested. The cookies got rave reviews and many asked for the recipe. Yummy and somewhat guilt free???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States