Apple Hermits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Great recipe!! I made some changes. I didn't add cloves and nutmeg because I didn't have any. I used 1/4 cup+ 1tb homemade applesauce, cut butter in half and left out milk. It turned out great! Will keep the recipe! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
These cookies are just what I was hoping for. The combination of my favourite spices with the texture of slightly chewy cake is perfect!!! I had to leave out the walnuts due to allergies but can imagine they would be wonderful with the raisins and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Excellent! No changes necessary except just a note that the dough does not spread out so if you make little balls on the sheet, that's what you'll get from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I could eat these all day! I left out the raisins and nuts, and they were still amazing with just the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe. I was concerned that the batter looked dry, but after reading some other comments, I left it as is. The cookies turned out moist after baking. I did add a teaspoon or so of vanilla, because I love it. Like others suggested, I substituted pecans and dried cranberries, because that is what I had on hand. I used about 1 1/2 c of apple. I omitted the icing, because they are already delicious without it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I added 1/4 c molasses and baked them as bars. Only 20 min, delightfully undercooked and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These are very good. I substituted butterscotch chips for the raisins and didn't make the glaze. I shredded the apples and left out nutmeg and cloves. These seem to work better with a small scoop rather than the large. Edit: changed this from 5 to 4... The flavor is good, but the presentation isn't that great. They spread quite a bit and don't really hold their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I dunno what I managed to do, but my mix turned out like sand. Maybe I got a bit too enthusiastic with the butter creaming. I added an additional egg and a half a cup of milk to get back to cookie dough. Cookies were enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
These are wonderful. I didn't make the glaze since I didn't have milk, but the cookies don't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Abbitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I just finished making these cookies and they turned out great! I ended up adding more than a cup of chopped apples, more like 2 cups. The batter was very wet so I added a 1/4 of a cup of whole wheat pastry flour and also added a 1/2 tsp. of vanilla because I love vanilla in everything. Perfect. They are soft and cake like. The whole house smells wonderful. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States