Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Smile021
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I made this cake for a co-worker's birthday and everyone loved it! They raved over the caramel glaze and loved the fact that it had apples and walnuts in it. I'll be making this for future family get-togethers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smile021

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This cake was DELICIOUS! My whole family loved it. It was very, very easy to make. The only change I made was that I doubled the cinnamon and the cake was moist and wonderful. The smell was heavenly also. The glaze was a nice touch. Thank you for the recipe, I'm sure I'll be making this many, many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHEFLAUREEN
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Wonderful cake. Moist and great flavor. Used Elstar apples and added a bit more cinnamon. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFLAUREEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I substituted 1/3 of the oil with applesauce, doubled the cinnamon, added a dash of nutmeg, substituted half of the white sugar with brown sugar, and half of the other half of white sugar with Splenda. To use as much of the glaze as possible, I put a large plate underneath the cooling rack as I drizzled the glaze on the cake, and then switched to a clean plate. Then, I drizzled the glaze that dripped onto the first plate. The only thing that seems off is the cooking time and temp. 325 F for 70 minutes was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Nice and easy glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I thought this was very tasty but I found the batter to be really thick and the end result was a dense cake with a very hard crust. I agree with another reviewer to cook this for less time. I would also double the caramel glaze because I couldn't taste it at all. All that said, everyone still enjoyed it and I will try it again with some changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This cake looked so good from the picture but I found it very heavy after cooking it. Maybe I done something wrong. Had a good flavor but again it was very heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I served this at a party and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe! It was great because I made it the day before the party and just drizzled the glaze over it when I was ready to serve it. I doubled the cinnamon like others had suggested and only baked it for 70 minutes at 325. It was moist and delicious! I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This cake is wonderful - so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Delicious! It keeps really well, covered, on the counter for several days too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States