Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
As written, this cake has too much oil. I cooked it at 325 for 70 minutes and doubled cinnamon, per reviews. I did not have any applesauce so I could not sub. it for the oil. It is worth trying again with the 1cup oil, 1/2 cup applesauce. Maybe then I can give it 5 stars. After baking, it still tasted too "wet" for me. Nice taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this for some friends and they loved it! Moist, rich, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This cake is FABULOUS! I followed the recipe exactly...I'm not really sure what I did wrong with the caramel glaze, because it was a little runny. But it didn't matter, because the cake was fabulous with or without the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This cake has a nice taste but the batter is very thick. Once it's cooked, the inside is moist but the outside hard and crusty. Didn't love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The glaze is phenomenal and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This cake was very good! I didn't make any changes. The oven time was perfect (for my oven.) I made it for Thanksgiving and the day after it tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
great recipe . lovely results . and the longer the glaze is lift to cool the better it tastes! definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Delicious and so moist. I did make changes other people suggested. Baked at 325 for 70 minutes. Used cinnamon applesauce for 1/3 of the oil. doubled the cinnamon. also, I just spooned sauce over individual pieces of cake, not over entire cake. I had to travel with the cake and it was easier this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I so wanted to love this, but didn't. I made it for a friends birthday. It was just ok, which was a dissappointment. I think this would be better stated as a bread than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Followed recipe and agree with other users to use half applesauce and half vegi oil. It has great taste and easy to make. Hubby liked it..two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Port Allen, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States