Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This cake is wonderful. The only thing I did differently was doubled the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murelzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I needed a glaze that didn't call for confectioner's sugar as I had run out. I used this to top a pineapple cake and it was awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Schulz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is pretty good. But like others I doubled the cinnamon after tasting the batter and realizing there wasn't enough. Other than that, and baking for 70 minutes at 325 (too many people suggesting that to ignore) I made this exactly as written. This needs more spice for my taste. Next time I will add allspice and cloves, like in my mother's apple cupcake recipe. The glaze is nice, but next time I will try a thicker caramel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was SOOOOO yummy! I used Splenda instead of sugar, the Splenda browqn sugar blend instead of brown sugar and added 2 extra apples. AWESOME, moist and sooooo tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was a great recipe. The only thing I did different was melted caramel candy apple wraps over the top as the glaze just didn't have the look I wanted and I cooked it for 45 minutes as any longer and it would have burned. I took this to a cookout and it was a huge hit! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: New Vineyard, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I had baked my own cake and really wanted a caramel/nut topping. I used this topping and put pecans on top. The sauce is excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
i hate when people change everything and then review the recipe poorly BUT i have made this many times (exact instructions first then made changes). this cake rocks. the glaze is delish. i find light brown sugar tastes way better in it than dark. i also baked it at 325 for 70 min. i used half white and half brown sugar and sub'd apple sauce in for 1/3 the amount of oil. (1/2 cup ap. sauce, 1 cup oil) i also increased cinnamon to 1 teaspoon. that's my fave way. made it for my aunt's bday. she hates sweets and had a second piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia Fields, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was very good but just a little dry. Baked it at 325 for 70 minutes as recommended by other reviewers. I think I like other apple cakes better. The caramel sauce was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is a great bundt cake! So moist and delicious! I served the sauce on each piece as rec--warmed up the sauce and served w/ vanilla ice cream. I made a few slight changes based on comments: I used 1 t. cinnamon and dash of nutmeg. Cut oil a bit to 1 and 1/4 cups. I used 2 large Granny Smiths apples and used pecans, as I didn't have walnuts. Baked 70 minutes at 325F. Came out perfectly and everybody loved it--even w/o sauce eaten for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This cake was wonderful. I like others added an extra 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I also used 1 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce like some others did. I didn't have walnuts so they were omitted. I think the next time I make it I will let the cake cool completely before I put the glaze on it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States