Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Absolutely delightful! I added 1 cup of chocolate chips as well. Worked wonderfully with the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I thought this cake was delicious!!! I love how the top of the cake was crunchy so that when you flip it over, it's like a crust! I didn't pour the glaze over the whole cake, I just drizzled it over individual pieces. With the leftovers, I didn't use the caramel at all, I just ate the cake the way it was for a breakfast treat! So YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Gave this recipe a shot, and it worked out WONDERFULLY! I reduced the cook time to 70 minutes, and doubled the cinnamon. Dough is very thick, which concerned me, but it turns out perfect. Before serving, warm a slice in the toaster oven and add a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
All that oil left us tasting it in the cake afterwards. Might try substituting another fat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Palestine, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This cake was moist and really good. Made it for a a school function and it got alot of attention....I also made some minor tweks after reading the boards...i also baked it at 325 for 70 and it was perfect. One for the recipe book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vidalia, Georgia, USA
Living In: Estacada, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Wow! I brought this to Thanksgiving dinner and it was a huge hit. The perfect fall recipe. I would mention that I wouldn't consider it a pound cake, but a bundt cake. I added more cinnamon as mentioned by other reviewers and baked at 350 for 70 min. The outer crust was a little hard so next time, I would bake at 325. Also, I did not glaze the entire cake. I made the glaze and took it along to my dinner, reheated it in the microwave and poured it over each slice right before serving. The glaze is INCREDIBLE and really "made the cake". By glazing each piece, you were able to get all of the flavor! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Superb! I made this last night & half is already gone. I dropped off some to my daughter's babysitter & co-workers and everyone wants it for their next gathering. I made minor substituions. Instead of 2 cups white sugar, I used 1 c. white & 1 c. brown. I only used 1 apple too. It was awesome and I will be making it for my family's table this & every Thanksgiving to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I love this cake it is the best, It will be sitting on my thanksgiving dinner table, and my xmas dinner as one of the favorite desserts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Delicious! It keeps really well, covered, on the counter for several days too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This cake is wonderful - so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States