Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe was amazing. It was moist, baked evenly, and had the right amount of apple (even though I worried it called for too much apple). I followed the instructions exactly except I substituted cinnamon chips for walnuts (not a big nut fan) and followed the suggestions about the cooking time and temp. (325 for 70 mins) and for half/half white sugar and brown sugar. I also used "caramel frosting I" as a glaze instead of the one in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This cake is wonderful! A scoop of vanilla ice cream hits the spot! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Used more apples and less time to bake...70 minutes only. Excellent with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I hate to change a recipe and rate it but.... if you are in a hurry or you are like me and don't have much luck with homemade cakes this may help...I used a white cake mix prepared as directed then added the vanilla, walnuts and apples kept everything else the same, this cake was so good next time I may add the cream to the glaze as the other reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I think I proved that this is a fool-proof recipe last night when I made it for the 1st time! I went into it and realized I had 2 eggs, not 3, so I substituted 2 tsp water, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp butter and 2Tbsp flour. Then when it was so thick (it was like stirring play-doh lol) I added some milk and sour cream. I worried the whole time it baked, because I was due at a party with cake in hand. It was perfect! I didn't have time to wait the 20 minutes for the cake to settle, and turned it over immediately (next time, will wait because it wasn't as pretty) and the glaze was perfect amount, just using it while cake was on platter and not wire rack. So, while I made some major mistakes, all of my own making- this cake was perfection and I can't wait to make it again- the REAL way! lol Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This turned out really good. My only complaints were that I had way too much glaze and I had to adjust my baking time. It got a little well-done on the bottom, but it was still good. I do think that next time I will halve the glaze. I had to throw out a lot of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Amazing!! I added extra apples, additional cinnamon, and apple sauce for 1/2 the oil. Just be sure not to over bake!! I've never have so many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Awesome, awesome, awesome. Used 3 small granny smith apples and doubled the brown sugar in the frosting (which I spread all over the warm cake, letting it absorb - ended up looking like a honey bun! Mmmm).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I have made this cake three times in the last five days! It is awesome! I made the suggested modifications (1c brown sugar and 1c white sugar, 1/2c applesauce and 1c vegetable oil, and double the cinnamon). My husband and our five children can't get enough of this cake! Wonderful recipe! *Note*--I tried it with the correct amount of sugar because I ran out of brown sugar, and we liked it a lot better that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I thought this cake was wonderful. The only change I purposely made was to bake at 325 for 70 minutes like the reviewers suggested. Now my accidental change, I added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. Dont ask me how I did that. I was very worried by how much that was, but was pleasantly surprised! Was so good and was complimented on at Thanksgiving dinner. The second time i made this i used slightly less cinnamon so the apples can stand out a bit and somehow this was even more wonderful this time!!! YUMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELM82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States