Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Yumm. I followed several suggestions concerning brown sugar, applesauce and temp and this is a great cake. I drizzled the top with ice cream topping instead of preparing the glaze - only because I was distracted watching those Texas Tech Red Raiders win their football game. And five teenagers couldn't wait to dig in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I've already made this cake twice this week because I just can't get enough of it! I did take the advice of several reviews to bake @ 325 for 70 minutes, and used applesauce for 1/3 of the oil - thanks! I also used the tips to put foil or a paper plate under the rack to catch the glaze drippings - until today. Instead, I put the cake plate under the rack, then set the cake right on top of all the drippings - no mess to clean, no waste, and now underneath is saturated as well. Mmm-mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rotterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This cake is wonderful. The only thing I did differently was doubled the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murelzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I needed a glaze that didn't call for confectioner's sugar as I had run out. I used this to top a pineapple cake and it was awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is pretty good. But like others I doubled the cinnamon after tasting the batter and realizing there wasn't enough. Other than that, and baking for 70 minutes at 325 (too many people suggesting that to ignore) I made this exactly as written. This needs more spice for my taste. Next time I will add allspice and cloves, like in my mother's apple cupcake recipe. The glaze is nice, but next time I will try a thicker caramel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was SOOOOO yummy! I used Splenda instead of sugar, the Splenda browqn sugar blend instead of brown sugar and added 2 extra apples. AWESOME, moist and sooooo tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was a great recipe. The only thing I did different was melted caramel candy apple wraps over the top as the glaze just didn't have the look I wanted and I cooked it for 45 minutes as any longer and it would have burned. I took this to a cookout and it was a huge hit! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: New Vineyard, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I had baked my own cake and really wanted a caramel/nut topping. I used this topping and put pecans on top. The sauce is excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
i hate when people change everything and then review the recipe poorly BUT i have made this many times (exact instructions first then made changes). this cake rocks. the glaze is delish. i find light brown sugar tastes way better in it than dark. i also baked it at 325 for 70 min. i used half white and half brown sugar and sub'd apple sauce in for 1/3 the amount of oil. (1/2 cup ap. sauce, 1 cup oil) i also increased cinnamon to 1 teaspoon. that's my fave way. made it for my aunt's bday. she hates sweets and had a second piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia Fields, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States