Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Delicious! Moist, flavourful! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This cake was absolutely wonderful! I made it exactly as the recipe stated. I loved that the glaze hardened. I got many compliments on how good this cake was. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Delicious!! The caramel glaze is to die for! Try it... you will not be disappointed:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacks Creek, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Reagan, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe was amazing. It was moist, baked evenly, and had the right amount of apple (even though I worried it called for too much apple). I followed the instructions exactly except I substituted cinnamon chips for walnuts (not a big nut fan) and followed the suggestions about the cooking time and temp. (325 for 70 mins) and for half/half white sugar and brown sugar. I also used "caramel frosting I" as a glaze instead of the one in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This cake is wonderful! A scoop of vanilla ice cream hits the spot! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Used more apples and less time to bake...70 minutes only. Excellent with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I hate to change a recipe and rate it but.... if you are in a hurry or you are like me and don't have much luck with homemade cakes this may help...I used a white cake mix prepared as directed then added the vanilla, walnuts and apples kept everything else the same, this cake was so good next time I may add the cream to the glaze as the other reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I think I proved that this is a fool-proof recipe last night when I made it for the 1st time! I went into it and realized I had 2 eggs, not 3, so I substituted 2 tsp water, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp butter and 2Tbsp flour. Then when it was so thick (it was like stirring play-doh lol) I added some milk and sour cream. I worried the whole time it baked, because I was due at a party with cake in hand. It was perfect! I didn't have time to wait the 20 minutes for the cake to settle, and turned it over immediately (next time, will wait because it wasn't as pretty) and the glaze was perfect amount, just using it while cake was on platter and not wire rack. So, while I made some major mistakes, all of my own making- this cake was perfection and I can't wait to make it again- the REAL way! lol Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This turned out really good. My only complaints were that I had way too much glaze and I had to adjust my baking time. It got a little well-done on the bottom, but it was still good. I do think that next time I will halve the glaze. I had to throw out a lot of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Amazing!! I added extra apples, additional cinnamon, and apple sauce for 1/2 the oil. Just be sure not to over bake!! I've never have so many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States