Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
A good recipe, and delicious autumn dessert. I followed some reviewers and cut the oil content to 1 cup, and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. This keeps the moisture without making it greasy, and adds more apple flavour. Also, I didnt believe the baking time when I read it so I checked it after 45 minutes and it was done, a bit overdone even. I reccomed checking after 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I followed the advice of other reviewers and subbed 1/2c of applesauce for 1/2c oil. I also used all whole wheat flour - that was probably a bit much, as it was much more hearty-tasting than most cakes. I'd probably go 3/4 ww 1/4 white next time. I added probably 4 medium/small chopped apples, and I'd add more next time. And, last sub: 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar. I didn't go with the glaze, as I didn't want to add a stick of butter to this thing, and it was very tasty without it. Disappeared very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexpsu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Jervis, New York, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I made this just as directed. My family gave it rave reviews. All the way from my husband, daughter, son-in-law, and young granddaughter. Fantastic, thanks for sharing MrsMorton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This cake was good,but not worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassymama1981

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Fantastic recipe!! I substituted whole wheat flour for 1 cup of the flour. It was moist and delicious. Definately put a pan under the cake to catch any drips from the glaze. You will not want to waste a drop, so just spoon it back onto the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This cake has 'way too much oil in it for my taste, and I tried reducing the 1.5C of oil with 1C applesauce, and 1/2C oil, and it just wasn't all that good. I suppose if you put 1C oil with 1/2C applesauce, it would make it richer, and I might have enjoyed it more, but the extra calories just aren't worth it. I think I will try another apple cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Fantastic. It is hard for me to get some of it for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is one of those cakes that tastes better the next day. I have to admit that I did not care for the carmel topping, but it is easy enough to mix some icing sugar with milk, a bit of butter and some vanilla, then top this with some toasted walnuts. I had no problems with the cake being dry, but I would check for doneness at about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I usually rely greatly on reviews. I think this "cake" was a big miss. I would call it more like a dry bread. The cake is so dry and flavorless. I didn't alter the recipe at all but it needs more spice and moistness. The caramel topping needs more flavor too. I also think I would chop the apples into super small dice. YUCK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States