Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This cake has 'way too much oil in it for my taste, and I tried reducing the 1.5C of oil with 1C applesauce, and 1/2C oil, and it just wasn't all that good. I suppose if you put 1C oil with 1/2C applesauce, it would make it richer, and I might have enjoyed it more, but the extra calories just aren't worth it. I think I will try another apple cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Fantastic. It is hard for me to get some of it for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is one of those cakes that tastes better the next day. I have to admit that I did not care for the carmel topping, but it is easy enough to mix some icing sugar with milk, a bit of butter and some vanilla, then top this with some toasted walnuts. I had no problems with the cake being dry, but I would check for doneness at about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I usually rely greatly on reviews. I think this "cake" was a big miss. I would call it more like a dry bread. The cake is so dry and flavorless. I didn't alter the recipe at all but it needs more spice and moistness. The caramel topping needs more flavor too. I also think I would chop the apples into super small dice. YUCK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yellowpairs ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I just made this for my granpa's 66th birthday and he LOVED it!! I have never made a bundt from scratch so I was a little worried, but I followed the recipe to a T except I did take the advice of other's with cooking temp and time at 325 70min. It was super moist and delish, a gorgeous non traditional birthday cake thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellowpairs ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was the first recipe I ever saved on here and the first one i ever made - I'm still making this cake and always always being asked for the recipe - This cake is amazing!! I've been trying to find good bundt cake recipes and this is the best yet!! The cake was moist for well over a week. I just didn't add the nuts but added an extra apple. I kept the oil as it was, it was not too oily at all. The whole family loved it and it will definately be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This recipe was just wonderful. There is nothing I would change. This will be going to my next potluck. It is so moist and the topping gives it that something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is AWESOME! I baked this in a 9 x 13 pan intead of a bundt pan and it was very well received!!! The caramel glaze is also fantasitc. I've used the glaze recipe on many other recipes and it is soooooo easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by shaneP
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Ahhh, this cake tastes really good, it's really sweet though. I'm making this cake for my girlfriend's birthday and this was trial run since she's out of town. The only thing I did different was use a 10in Bundt pan instead of a nine. Also I baked at 325 for 70 minutes like some of the other reviwers suggested although I don't think 10 more minutes would have made to much of a difference, but maybe so. I got excited and flipped the pan to early so it fell apart a little but it's still somewhat entact. Good lookin cake and a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaneP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Delicious! Moist, flavourful! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States