Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
OMG...I tired this recipe about a year ago, wrote the recipe because printer was "off line" and didnt write the name of recipe down or who created it...finally found it...to those of you looking for something sweet and delicious try this, my family Loves this recipe. Grandson requested it for his Birthday...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadine James

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bsblmom
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
WOW!!! Very yummy cake!!! Not a big apple fan but was looking for something different to make for my dad's birthday. I am so glad I did or I would have missed out on what is now one of my favorites. I have since made it 4 more times all to rave reviews. Family, friends and co workers... they all love it. Have another baking right now! I did as others said and dropped the temp to 325 and the cook time to 70 minutes. Comes out perfect everytime. Also, I double the caramel sauce using dark brown sugar and half and half instead of milk... butter is also a must. No margarine... That being said. if you have not already made this cake then what are you waiting for??? It is amazing!!! Thanks so much for this incredible recipe! I will be making it for years! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsblmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I don't give many negative reviews but I'm doing this more for the sake that I remember not to make this cake again, at least per instructions. I followed the recipe exactly, though an overwhelming number of reviewers subbed applesauce for some of the oil and changed the bake time and temp. I did not have applesauce so I went ahead and followed the recipe as stated. It smelled delicious and the bake time as stated worked for me. The big turn-off for me is the amount of oil. It was INCREDIBLY oily, so much so that it left a bad taste in my mouth and I didn't even finish my piece. Perhaps it would be better with the applesauce substitute but I think I'll just keep looking for another apple bundt cake. Sorry, as written, this just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This cake is soooo good, after reading the reviews I put in 1 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce. The cake is very moist, will be making again. I didnt add the glaze, I dont think it really needs it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
delicious! the best cake i've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I am reviewing this recipe with 5 stars because not only is it EXCELLENT, but I actually followed the recipe exactly.Anyways, it was amazing, the family loved it. I will make again! Very flavorful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
the best cake ever, so very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
this cake is awesome!!! i used 1 cup sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. i also added a dash of nutmeg ... it was fantastic . I doubled the glaze recipe but it ended up being way to much. i used the left over glaze to dip the extra apples in .. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenninwonderland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This cake was AWESOME! Not to sweet, with a wonderful flavor, Very moist. Kept on the counter for 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Served this to my family for dessert last night. They LOVED it. My mom, a very picky eater, said it was so good that she didn't want to swallow! I substituted raisins for the walnuts since my father can't eat them. Baked it at 325 for 70 minutes as suggested, but I think that might have been too long in my oven. Will try 60 minutes next time and will add an extra apple. I did not care for the caramel glaze but it was a huge hit with the fam. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States